Did Nigeria goalkeeper Austin Ejide purposely score an own goal?
During Nigeria’s international friendly against Scotland at the Craven Cottage, Nigeria goalkeeper Austin Ejide scored an improbable own goal that calls for investigations.
In the 33rd minute of the match, Ejide went forward to catch the ball which was inside the box, however, he ended up chucking the ball into the back of his own net.
The goal was ruled out because of foul on the goalkeeper, but the odd factor of the goal was that it came just 24 hours later when the Scottish FA had indicated that a possible threat of match-fixing was pondering over this match after being alerted by the National Crime Agency.
“We did (talk about it) because it's something ridiculous, something that we don't know where it's coming from,” Nigeria coach Stephen Keshi was quoted on Fox Sports. “We're not gamblers, we are football players.”
“I don't even know where that is coming from, we don't know what happened, match fixing or no match fixing. This is the first time I've been a coach or been a player and the first time I'm hearing this, match-fixing. I don't think it had anything to do with our build-up or the game,” he added.
The match eventually ended in a draw with both the sides scoring twice.
The own-goal by Austine Ejide that was disallowed: