Favorites Edit

Portugal announce 30 man provisional squad for the FIFA World Cup 2014; Ronaldo and Quaresma in

21.73K   //    14 May 2014, 00:56 IST

Portugal announce their provisional squad for the 2014 FIFA World Cup

Portugal coach Paulo Bento announced his 30 man provisional party for the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

Captain and talisman Cristiano Ronaldo has been picked in the squad despite recent injury worries. Though there was a scare, there as no way Ronaldo would not have been named in the squad. He had suffered a hamstring injury while playing for Real Madrid against Valladolid and sat out the weekend game against Celta Vigo.

Notable inclusions include FC Porto winger Ricardo Quaresma, who makes it back to the Portugal squad after a gap of 2 years. His resurgence since re-joining Porto in January definitely helped his cause.

Promising Sporting Lisbon youngster and reported Manchester United target William Carvalho is another interesting selection by Bento. Manchester United winger Nani has also been named in the squad as he proved his fitness towards the end of the season despite having been injury-prone throughout the year.

The rest of the squad pick themselves as the squad bears a close resemblance to the earlier squads for the Euro 2012 and the World Cup qualification campaign.

Portugal are in Group  G with Germany, Ghana and the United States of America, and open their campaign against Germany on the 16th of June.

Goalkeepers: Anthony Lopes (Lyon), Beto (Sevilla), Eduardo (Braga), Rui Patricio (Sporting).

Defenders: Andre Almeida (Benfica), Antunes (Malaga), Bruno Alves (Fenerbahce), Fabio Coentreo (Real Madrid), Joao Pereira (Valencia), Neto (Zenit), Pepe (Real Madrid), Ricardo Costa (Valencia), Rolando (Inter).

Midfeidlers: Andre Gomes (Benfica), Joao Mario (Vitoria), Joao Moutinho (Monaco), Miguel Veloso (Dinamo Kiev), Raul Meireles (Fenerbahce), Ruben Amorim (Benfica), William Carvalho (Sporting).

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Eder (SC Braga), Helder Postiga (Lazio), Hugo Almeida (Besiktas), Ivan Cavaleiro (Benfica), Nani (Manchester United), Rafa (Braga), Ricardo Quaresma (FC Porto), Varela (FC Porto), Vieirinha (Wolfsburg).

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...