PSV Eindhoven win 22nd Dutch Eredivisie title with three games to spare

PSV Eindhoven Eredivisie 2014-15 champions
PSV Eindhoven are the Eredivisie 2014-15 champions

The Hague, April 19PSV Eindhoven have captured their 22nd Dutch football championship and their first since 2008 by beating SC Heerenveen 4-1. Coach Phillip Cocu's side had a perfect start with a goal by midfielder Luuk de Jong in the third minute and Dutch league (Eredivisie) top scorer Memphis Depay added his 20th goal of the season with a free-kick in the 23rd minute on Saturday, reports Xinhua.

Heerenveen came back, but De Jong scored again on the stroke of half-time and forward Luciano Narsingh sealed the victory and the title in the final minutes.

PSV led the Dutch league since August last year and now the Eindhoven-based giants are on 79 points from 31 matches. Second-placed Ajax Amsterdam are on 66 points from 30 matches. The reigning champions play NAC Breda at home on Sunday.

PSV grabbed their first national title in 1929 and in total they became champions of the Netherlands three times before the introduction of professional Dutch football in 1954. In the professional era they had a total of 19 titles.

Ajax are all-time leaders with a total of 33 championship titles. PSV are second with 22 and Feyenoord are third with 14 national championships.

Edited by Staff Editor


Quick Links

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...