Ranking Barcelona's 5 best Ballon d'Or winners

Sayan Chatterjee

#3 Ronaldinho - 2005

Barcelona v Celta Vigo - (file photo)
Barcelona v Celta Vigo - (file photo)

Ronaldinho was a 'Mes Que En footballer' who had the power to make anyone fall in love with the beautiful game. Widely regarded as the greatest Brazilian of the modern era, Ronaldinho was a true artist with the ball at his feet. He cemented his legacy with Barcelona, winning the Ballon d'Or in 2005.

Ronaldinho was in his prime at the Catalan club, earning a podium finish in the 2004 Ballon d'Or. The following year, he defeated Frank Lampard and Steven Gerrard to win the award. It was another feather in the cap for the Brazilian maestro, who was unstoppable at that moment.

During his five-year tenure, Ronaldinho scored 94 goals and provided 71 assists. He also gifted fans with countless unforgettable moments, one of them earning a standing ovation from Real Madrid fans in the 2005 'El Clasico' encounter. The Brazilian was only the second Barcelona player, after great Diego Maradona, to receive a standing ovation from the Madridistas.

#2 Johan Cruyff - 1973 and 1974

Laureus All Stars Unity Cup - 2014 Laureus World Sports Awards
Laureus All Stars Unity Cup - 2014 Laureus World Sports Awards

Johan Cruyff was one of the greatest footballing minds ever, with his legacy and his philosophy still reverberating in the Camp Nou. The legendary Dutch footballer revolutionized the way Barcelona played football, first as a player and then as a manager.

Already a Ballon d'Or in 1971 with Ajax, Cruyff's extraordinary exploits helped him win two consecutive Ballon d'Or awards with Barcelona. The Dutchman won it in 1973 and then again in 1974, which demonstrates his status as one of the greatest of all time.

On this day in 1974, Johan Cruyff won his third Ballon d'Or.

Cryuff wore Blaugrana kit from 1973 to 1978, making 174 appearances and scoring 59 goals. Barring Lionel Messi, Cryuff remains the only player for Barcelona to claim the Ballon d'Or prize more than once.

#1 Lionel Messi - 2009 to 2012, 2015, 2019 and counting

FIFA Ballon d'Or Gala 2015
FIFA Ballon d'Or Gala 2015

Many predicted that Lionel Messi will win the Ballon d'Or award when he finished 3rd in 2007 but very few expected him to win it six times. The Argentine genius had made the award his own, winning it more than any footballer in the history of the game.

No one deserved the 2021 Ballon d'Or more than Lionel Messi ⚽️👑

Messi has dominated the Ballon d'Or podium in an unprecedented manner. In addition to winning the award, the 34-year old has also made it into the top 3 more times than any other player. Messi won the award four consecutive times from 2009 to 2012 before winning his fifth and sixth in 2015 and 2019 respectively.

Messi needs no introduction when it comes to his greatness with Barcelona. The Argentine forward scored 672 goals and provided 301 assists during his tenure at the club, before moving to PSG this summer.

PREV 2 / 2
Edited by Diptanil Roy
Article image

Go to article

Quick Links:

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now