Favorites Edit

River Plate crowned 2015 Copa Libertadores champions

834   //    06 Aug 2015, 10:44 IST
River Plate Copa Libertadores Football.
River Plate squad poses with the Copa Libertadores title after defeating Tigers UANL 3-0

Buenos Aires, Aug 6  Argentina's River Plate won their third Copa Libertadores title by defeating Mexican club Tigres UANL 3-0 in the second leg of the final. The result at the Monumental stadium in Buenos Aires on Wednesday followed a goalless draw in last week's first leg in Monterrey, Xinhua reported.

Lucas Alario gave the hosts the lead on the stroke of half-time by latching onto Leonel Vangioni's low pass with a diving header that flew beyond the outstretched arms of Nahuel Guzman.

Carlos Sanchez then converted from the penalty spot after he was brought down by Javier Aquino. The result was put beyond doubt 11 minutes from time when Ramiro Funes Mori headed in Leonardo Pisculichi's cross following a corner.

"Everybody in the team deserves this result," Alario told Fox Sports after the match. "It's a great feeling to know that all of our hard work has paid off."

The result completes a remarkable turnaround for River Plate, who in 2011 were relegated from Argentina's top division for the first time in their history. The Buenos Aires club's last Copa Libertadores triumph came in 1995, when they defeated Colombia's America de Cali.

Tigres UANL were aiming to become the first Liga MX club to win Latin America's premier club trophy.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...