Favorites Edit

Spain announce 30-man provisional squad for FIFA World Cup 2014; Isco and Soldado out

Snehartho Dey
41.03K   //    13 May 2014, 17:20 IST
Spain announce provisional 30 man squad for the World Cup

Spain announce provisional 30 man squad for the World Cup

Spain joins the wagon of World Cup squad announcement as manager Vicente Del Bosque revealed his 30-man provisional squad for the FIFA World Cup 2014 in Brazil.

The La Roja team comprises of expected names including the reigning World Cup winners along with some young guns getting a shot at the summer event.

The Barcelona trio of  Xavi, Iniesta and Busquets will orchestrate the midfield for Del Bosque along with the experienced legs of Xabi Alonso. Koke of Atletico Madrid features for the first time while Isco has been excluded from the squad.

Sergio Ramos and Gerard Pique will once again resume their roles at the centre of defence while Daniel Carvajal and Cesar Azpilicueta were both selected for their first World Cup and will look to impress Del Bosque ahead of the tournament.

Diego Costa features in the forward line-up alongside his Atletico team-mate David Villa and Euro 2012 Golden Boot winner Fernando Torres. Alvaro Negredo has also been included among the shortlisted players while Roberto Soldado has been left out.

Iker Casillas will captain his side once again as the default first choice goalkeeper while Manchester United’s David De Gea replaces an injured Victor Valdes with Pepe Reina serving as the third choice for Del Bosque.

The squad will be reduced to 23 by May 25,2014.

Overall it seems Coach Vicente del Bosque has settled for a squad which is has many youth players including a few uncapped players.

Spain have been drawn in Group B against their 2010 final opponents Netherlands apart from Chile and Australia. They start their World Cup campaign on June 13 against Netherlands.

Goalkeepers:  Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), David De Gea (Manchester United), Pepe Reina (Napoli)

Defenders: Juanfran (Atletico Madrid), Daniel Carvajal and Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique and Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Raul Albiol (Napoli), Javi Martinez (Bayern Munich),  Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Alberto Moreno ( Sevilla)

Midfielders: Xavi, Andres Iniesta, Sergio Busquets and Fabreagas (Barcelona), Xabi Alonso ( Real Madrid), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Santi Cazorla (Arsenal), Juan Mata (Manchester United), Ander Iturraspe (Athletic Bilbao), Thiago Alcantara ( Bayern Munich), David Silva (Manchester City)

Forwards: Fernando Torres (Chelsea), Pedro (Barcelona), Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), David Villa (Atletico Madrid), Alvaro Negredo (Manchester City), Jesus Navas (Manchester City), Fernando Llorente (Juventus)

Topics you might be interested in:
Snehartho Dey
Fetching more content...