Favorites Edit

USA announce 30-man provisional squad for 2014 FIFA World Cup

27 Madhav
3.32K   //    13 May 2014, 13:08 IST
USA Team

USA Team

Jurgen Klinsmann has announced the USA squad for the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

Experienced goal keeper Tim Howard has been included along with Brad Guzan and Nick Rimando. Stoke City’s Geoff Cameron has been called up by Klinsmann while former Tottenham striker Clint Dempsey has also been included along with veteran attacking midfielder Landon Donovan.

Julian Green and De Andre Yedlin are the youngest players in this squad.

Klinsmann said,  “With Julian and DeAndre, we have two huge talents being part of the 30-man roster and it will be interesting to see how they take that challenge,” Klinsmann said. “Because they obviously they don’t have the experience that other players have it will be interesting for our coaches to see how they take it on and how they now compete for the 23 (player) roster.”

Sunderland striker Jozy Altidore has been selected by Klinsmann after he started all four matches in the previous World Cup.

Klinsmann said “Jozy is still a very young player and he’s going through a big learning experience with his club,” Klinsmann said, adding that he expects Altidore to have a big World Cup.

“He has not reached his potential yet … he’s still a player to develop, he’s not there yet.”

USA are in Group G along with Germany, Portugal and Ghana. USA play their first match on June 16th against Ghana at Estadio das Dunas Natal.

Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders: DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Nürnberg), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards: Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Topics you might be interested in:
27 Madhav
Fetching more content...