Write & Earn
Notifications

Video: Was Neymar's disallowed goal against Real Sociedad legitimate?

Neymar steals the ball from Sociedad's Goal keeper during a kickout and goes ahead to score. He is flagged by the referee but the event remains debatable. Should this trick be allowed and Neymar's goal considered?

TOP CONTRIBUTOR
News 05 Jan 2015, 14:15 IST
4.26K
Goal or no goal? A disappointed Neymar realises his goal was disallowed

Barcelona’s match at Real Sociedad was a shocker for all the fans of Barcelona. The match kicked off with both Neymar and Lionel Messi sitting on the bench, and the club were unable to convert the host of chances they created, thus losing the match.

Neymar was introduced in the second half and had the ball in the back of the net, after stealing the ball from keeper Geronimo Rulli as he went to clear. The Sociedad keeper was shocked and appealed for a free-kick and was visibly relieved when the referee complied. 

It’s a trick that Thierry Henry tried several times, during his career at Arsenal, but he was always penalised for doing so. There is no rule in the books which penalises the trick but the referees follow the tradition of giving the yellow card.

However, if there is negligible contact between the outfielder and the goalkeeper, should it be considered as a goal?

Fetching more content...