Create
Notifications
Get the free App now
Favorites Edit
Advertisement

Video: Referee awards controversial penalty for handball in AFC Champions League match

  • Did the ball cross the line completely?
ANALYST
News
Modified 30 Sep 2015, 18:05 IST
AFC Handball Penalty
Handball?

Referees are prone to giving wrong decisions at any point of time in a football match. They are humans after all. In the modern game, referees are now being offered extra assistance on the pitch with the use of latest technology to guide them throughout the match apart from the linesmen.

However, one of the most controversial penalties was awarded to Al Hilal during the AFC Champions League clash on Tuesday. Al Ahli took a 57th-minute lead through Rodrigo Lima, but Al Hilal had a chance to level the game when they won a strange penalty.

Al Ahli defender Salmin Khamis had a bizarre moment when he gambled that the ball had gone out of play. Knowing that the ball crossed the line, Khamis picked up the ball in his own area for a goal kick. But the officials immediately pointed to the penalty spot.

Al Hilal player Carlos Eduardo failed to convert from the spot-kick as his effort struck the post and bounced away to safety. It was a lucky moment for the visitors who were unfortunate to be at the receiving end of this penalty decision – but had the ball completely crossed the line?

The first leg of AFC Champions League semi-final match between Al Ahli and Al Hilal ended at 1-1 with both goals being scored by Brazillians.

Published 30 Sep 2015, 17:59 IST
Advertisement
Fetching more content...