Create

Video: Ronaldinho goal in Mexican Clausura final disallowed after he steals the ball from goalkeeper

ronaldinho steals ball goalkeeper goal disallowed
Ed Ran
Ronaldinho steals the ball as the goalkeeper attempts to clear it

Ronaldinho is at it again, this time trying to outfox goalkeepers in Mexico. With his side Queretaro leading 3-0 in the second leg of the 2015 Liga MX Clausura final, the Brazilian legend tried to score a goal by literally stealing the ball away from Santos Laguna goalkeeper Agustin Marchesin as he tried to clear the ball.

Although Santos had taken a 5-0 lead in the first leg, Queretaro gave them a huge scare by taking a 3-0 lead in the first half. And that was when Ronaldinho was brought on in the second half to help his team to a famous win.

In the 67th minute, Ronaldinho scored after he cheekily took the ball away as Marchesin tried to kick the ball downfield. As the goalkeeper protested with the referee, Ronaldinho went ahead and put the ball in the net. Ultimately, the referee disallowed the goal and even gave him a yellow card for the incident as the Brazilian tried to urge the crowd to get behind their team.

According to the rules, the ball is still considered to be in the goalkeeper’s possession until he releases or kicks it. It is illegal if a player prevents the goalkeeper from releasing the ball from his hands.



Paul Merson has predicted Manchester United vs Liverpool and other PL GW3 fixtures! Click here

Edited by Staff Editor

Comments

Quick Links:

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...