Favorites Edit

Wayne Rooney wins England fan's Player of the Year award

2.14K   //    09 Jan 2015, 16:30 IST
Wayne Rooney won the award for the third time in his career

England captain and Manchester United’s talisman Wayne Rooney has been voted as the England player of the year by the fans. This is the third time he has won the award. Rooney topped the charts with 27% of the votes in an online poll of supporters which placed him ahead of the second placed Danny Welbeck (11%) and third placed Raheem Sterling (7%).

Although he failed to inspire England at the World Cup in Brazil last year, Rooney achieved some great feats as an individual. He scored 8 goals in 13 appearances including his first World Gup goal when he tapped one home against Uruguay. He is just 3 behind Bobby Charlton in the all-time scoring record with 46 goals to his name. Gary Lineker is in second spot, but Rooney is expected to break both their records. 

Rooney was quick to acknowledge the love and duly reciprocated through his Twitter account and the Football Association’s website.

"I'm both very happy and proud to be named the England fans' player of the year.

“The fact that this award is chosen by the fans makes it even more special, so I would like to thank all those who voted. I would also like to thank all the England fans for their support throughout what was a mixed year. 

“Receiving an honour such as this from the fans is always something that fills you with personal pride."

After the retirement of former England captain Steven Gerrard, manager Roy Hodgson chose Rooney as the new captain. After a lot of speculation over his form before the World Cup, Rooney battered his critics by continuosly scoring goals and providing assists. His last international match of the year was against arch rivals Scotland and he scored a brace in a 3-1 win. Rooney is expected to lead England in the 2016 Euro finals as well.

Other awards

  • U21 Player of the Year: Saido Berahino (West Bromwich Albion)
  • Women’s Player of the Year: Toni Duggan (Manchester City)
  • Men’s Youth Player of the Year: Dom Solanke (Chelsea)
  • Women’s Youth Player of the Year: Leah Williamson (Arsenal)
Topics you might be interested in:
Football Analyst
Fetching more content...