Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Schedule

The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will have its twelfth edition in the month of January 2021 with the Final on the last day of January 2021. Mushtaq Ali Trophy schedule has a total of 102 T20I matches spread over 21 days.

The tournament begins on 10 January 2021 with the teams from all five groups playing every other team in their own group. A total of 7 rounds will be conducted in this stage as a couple of groups have 8 teams each.

After the end of this stage, the top two teams from each group will be qualified to play the Super League stage. In this stage, every team will play a match against one team from every other group. For example, the team that topped Group C will play a match each against the top teams in Group A and B, and the second-ranked teams in Group D and E.

According to the Mushtaq Ali schedule, the Qualifier League stage will be conducted from 26 November to 27 January. The top four teams of this stage will move on to play the semi-finals on 29 January 2021. Both the semis will be played on the same day. The venues for the Super League stage, semi-finals and the Final are yet to be decided by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

A 95 group stage matches, 4 Qualifier League stage matches, 2 semi-finals and the Final add up to a total of 102 games which will be played over a span of just 21 days. This makes the Syed Mushtaq Ali schedule 2021 really packed. This has been done to ensure that the tournament gets over before the IPL 2021 auction earlier in the year. The cricketers will have to manage their workload with utmost care as a winning team will be playing a maximum of 13 matches over the period.

App download animated image Get the free App now