WATCH: Scottie Scheffler hits ‘unreal’ eagle, putting him in a 3-shots lead

The Memorial Tournament presented by Workday - Round Two
Scottie Scheffler (Image via Andy Lyons/Getty Images)

American golfer Scottie Scheffler continues to deliver exemplary performances at the ongoing Memorial Tournament. He shot an "unreal" eagle to take a three-stroke lead in the game as he headed into the third round of the tournament.

Scottie Scheffler, who has won four titles this season, has his eyes set on adding another trophy to his well-accomplished accolades. He started the game at this week's Signature event with a round of 67 and followed it up with a 68 in the second round on Friday, June 7, to take the lead in the game.

He was phenomenal on the par-5 15th hole, making an eagle. On this 534-yard hole, the World No. 1 needed just three shots to get the ball into the hole, securing the eagle and giving him a two-stroke lead in the game. He extended the lead to three strokes by shooting a birdie on the 18th, finishing with a score of 9-under par.

Scottie Scheffler teed it up at the Muirfield Village Golf Course, starting with a birdie on the first hole on Friday. He shot three birdies on the front nine and two bogeys, a birdie, and an eagle on the back nine to score -4 in the second round. He had a three-stroke lead over Viktor Hovland and Adam Hadwin, who are tied for second place.

When will Scottie Scheffler tee off on Saturday at the Memorial Tournament?

Scottie Scheffler will tee off for the third round of the Memorial Tournament on Saturday, June 8, in a group with Adam Hadwin. The pair will start their game at 1:45 p.m. ET.

Saturday's round will start with its game at 9:20 a.m. ET with Andrew Putnam and Cameron Young starting the game on the first tee hole. Viktor Hovland and Christiaan Bezuidenhout will tee off at 1:35 p.m. ET, while Keegan Bradley and Ludvig Aberg start their game at 1:25 p.m. ET.

Here are the third-round tee times of the 2024 Memorial Tournament (all-time in ET):

  • 9:20 a.m. – Andrew Putnam, Cameron Young
  • 9:30 a.m. – Jackson Koivun, Emiliano Grillo
  • 9:40 a.m. – Jason Day, Justin Thomas
  • 9:50 a.m. – Austin Eckroat, Thomas Detry
  • 10:00 a.m. – Sungjae Im, Shane Lowry
  • 10:10 a.m. – Denny McCarthy, Tom Hoge
  • 10:20 a.m. – Davis Thompson, Matt Kuchar
  • 10:30 a.m. – Nick Taylor, Brian Harman
  • 10:45 a.m. – Cam Davis, Sam Burns
  • 10:55 a.m. – Tom Kim, Adam Svensson
  • 11:05 a.m. – Peter Malnati, Eric Cole
  • 11:15 a.m. – Victor Perez, Taylor Pendrith
  • 11:25 a.m. – Byeong Hun An, Will Zalatoris
  • 11:35 a.m. – Corey Conners, Max Homa
  • 11:45 a.m. – Lee Hodges, J.T. Poston
  • 12:00 p.m. – Sahith Theegala, Russell Henley
  • 12:10 p.m. – Billy Horschel, Alex Noren
  • 12:20 p.m. – Nick Dunlap, Matt Fitzpatrick
  • 12:30 p.m. – Seamus Power, Hideki Matsuyama
  • 12:40 p.m. – Collin Morikawa, Si Woo Kim
  • 12:50 p.m. – Tommy Fleetwood, Sepp Straka
  • 1:05 p.m. – Xander Schauffele, Akshay Bhatia
  • 1:15 p.m. – Tony Finau, Rory McIlroy
  • 1:25 p.m. – Keegan Bradley, Ludvig Aberg
  • 1:35 p.m. – Viktor Hovland, Christiaan Bezuidenhout
  • 1:45 p.m. – Scottie Scheffler, Adam Hadwin

The final of this week's Memorial Tournament will take place on Sunday, June 9.

Quick Links

Edited by Sudeshna Banerjee
App download animated image Get the free App now