IIHF Women's World Championship 2023: How to watch, schedule, and more

Canada v United States - 2017 IIHF Women
IIHF Women's World Championship is set to begin tomorrow

While the eyes of the hockey universe are on the upcoming NHL playoffs, real hockey fans are patiently awaiting the IIHF Women's World Championship. The international hockey tournament will run from April 5 to April 16 in Brampton, Ontario, Canada.

"IIHF: Marie-Philip Poulin will continue as Canada’s captain at the Women’s World Championships this week in Brampton. It will be her seventh tournament leading Team Canada, passing Hayley Wickenheiser’s six times. A third straight World Championship in the cards?" - Ben Steiner

The tournament will feature 10 different teams, including Team France, who were promoted from the Division I Pool to the Top Division. The countries that will be vying for the 2023 gold medal are:

  • Canada
  • Czechia
  • Finland
  • France – Promoted from the 2022 Division IA
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Japan
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United States

In 2022, Team Canada won their second consecutive gold medal, defeating Team USA 2-1 in the finals, which were held in Herning, Denmark. Even though her team finished second, Taylor Heise of the United States was voted as the tournament MVP.

"Between Hilary Knight making history, Taylor Heise bursting onto the scene, and the many other incredible stories coming from the US’s tournament run there is still a TON of things to be proud of despite falling short of gold" - @lyssax86

Heise will be returning for the United States as they look to dethrone Team Canada for the IIHF Women's World Championship crown. This may be easier said than done, with the host nation looking to secure its third straight title.

IIHF Women's World Championship schedule for the tournament

Group play will take place from April 5 to April 11 with all five teams from Group A (Canada, United States, Japan, Switzerland, and Czechia) moving on the quarterfinals.

On the other side of the Women's World Championship, the top four teams from Group B (Finland, Germany, Sweden, Hungary and Finland) will square off for a shot at the quarterfinals.

On April 5, the first games of the tournament will be held, with three games being played. The opening game of the tournament will see France take on Finland, followed by the United States and Japan, with hosts Canada taking on Switzerland.

"As national teams converge on Brampton, they are going to find themselves at the center of the girls' and women's hockey universe — and not only for the 2023 IIHF Women's World Championship. #WomensWorlds #WomensHockey" - Erin Brown

The quarterfinal action is set to begin on April 13, with the advancing teams squaring off on April 15 in the semifinals. The finals will be held at 7 pm ET on April 16 at the CAA Centre in Brampton, Ontario.

For fans hoping to catch all of the action, the game will be broadcast live on TSN.

Quick Links

Edited by Rajdeep Barman
Be the first one to comment