⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Asian Kabaddi Championships 2017: India and Pakistan clash on the cards in men's category

21 Nov 2017, 12:38 IST

The Indian men's team at the World Cup last year
The Indian men's team at the World Cup last year

The Asian Kabaddi Championships 2017 kick off on Wednesday and will witness the best teams from across the continent go head-to-head against each other. The competition will feature a total of 10 teams each participating in the men's and women's sections, with heavyweights India starting as favourites in both categories, given their prowess in the sport at the continental and world level in recent years.

The championship will feature a total of 10 teams take part in each section, with India, Iran, Japan, South Korea, Pakistan, Thailand, Iraq, Sri Lanka and Turkmenistan competing in both the men's and women's sections. However, the final place in the men's lineup will be taken by Afghanistan and in the women's section, Chinese Taipei will participate.

Earlier this week, the draw for the two categories also took place and in the men's section, arch-rivals India and Pakistan are in line to face off in what promises to be a mouth-watering prospect for fans.

Here's how the teams are divided in the men's and women's divisions at the Asian Championships:

Men's category

Group 1: India, Pakistan, Japan, Iraq and Afghanistan

Group 2: Iran, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Turkmenistan

Women's category

Group 1: India, Thailand, South Korea, Chinese Taipei, Turkmenistan

Group 2: Iran, Sri Lanka, Japan, Iraq, Pakistan

The final schedule of the event is awaited and in the meanwhile, teams are making their way to the hilly and picturesque location of Gorgan in Iran. The Indian contingent is scheduled to leave on Wednesday.


The men's team will be led by star raider Ajay Thakur, who is coming off the back of a fine showing with the Tamil Thalaivas in PKL 5. Surjeet, the Bengal Warriors skipper, will be the vice-captain of the team.

In the women's team, Abhilasha Mhatre will lead the Indian national team while Priyanka will be her deputy.

Fetching more content...