Indian Kabaddi team's 12-member men's and women's squad for South Asian Games 2019 announced

The men's team will look to clinch their 10th gold medal at the South Asian Games.
The men's team will look to clinch their 10th gold medal at the South Asian Games.
Vijay Sain

The Amateur Kabaddi Federation of India (AKFI) has announced a final 12-member India men's and women's squad for the South Asian Games 2019. Kabaddi event in the 13th South Asian Games will commence from 4th December 2019 and culminate on 9th December 2019, which will take place in Kathmandu-Pokhara, Nepal.

Deepak Niwas Hooda is set to lead the men's kabaddi team as the captain, while Priyanka will be the skipper for the women's kabaddi team. Pawan Sehrawat (men's) and Deepika Henry Joseph (women's) have got appointed as the vice-captains of their respective teams.

AKFI announced the teams on their website.
AKFI announced the teams on their website.

Deepak Niwas Hooda will focus upon his captaincy to lead his national team towards their 10th gold medal in South Asian Games. The team has aligned star-studded raiders into the line-up with the likes of Pawan Sehrawat, Pardeep Narwal, Vikash Kandola, and Naveen Kumar set to carry the offence of the side. Darshan Kadian will be hoping to capitalize on his opportunity in Indian colours.

The flamboyant Nitesh Kumar will form a corner combination with the experienced veteran Surender Nada. Nada will be returning after a shoulder injury that took him out of the seventh season of Pro Kabaddi. Vishal Bhardwaj and Amit Hooda have got named for replacements as well.

The duo of Sunil Kumar and Parvesh Bhainswal will be guarding the cover defence for the team. The onus will be upon them, as there are no substitutions named for Sunil and Parvesh.

The likes of Payal Chowdhary, Ritu Negi, and Sakshi Kumari, who were a part of the silver-medal winning kabaddi team in Asian Games 2018, will be returning to the side. The women's team has got a revamp this year with the addition of younger names to the side.

Earlier this month, the men's and women's probable squad trained at the coaching camps at SAI NBA, Rohtak, Haryana from 5th November to 26th November 2019 to determine the final teams. Balwan Singh and Ashan Kumar are the coaches with Jaivir Sharma as the manager for the men's kabaddi team. On the women's side, Sunil Dabas and Banani Saha will be coaching the women's team with Shailaja Jain as the manager.

Indian Kabaddi Teams for South Asian Games 2019

Men's Kabaddi Team: Deepak Niwas Hooda (C), Pawan Sehrawat (V.C.), Nitesh Kumar, Vishal Bhardwaj, Sunil Kumar, Parvesh Bhainswal, Naveen Kumar, Pardeep Narwal, Amit Hooda, Surender Nada, Vikash Kandola, and Darshan Kadian

Women's Kabaddi Team: Priyanka (C), Deepika Henry Joseph (V.C.), Ritu Kumari, Nisha, Pushpa, Sakshi Kumari, Payel Chowdhary, Ritu Negi, Sonali Vishnu Shingate, Snehal Pardeep Shinde, Mamta Kumari Dhaka, and Harwinder Kaur

Edited by Alan John


Quick Links:

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...