Favorites Edit

Indian squad for Circle Style World Cup Kabaddi announced

8.74K   //    03 Nov 2016, 22:43 IST
Kabaddi World Cup.jpg
The competition will see 11 teams vying for the men’s team title and eight for the women's

The 6th Dr. BR Ambedkar World Cup Kabaddi got off to a rousing start at the Nehru Stadium in Rupnagar, Punjab on Thursday with a lot of pomp and grandeur. This gala Circle Style Kabaddi event, that has been held annually since 2009 with the exception of last year, will see 11 teams vying for the men’s team title and eight teams competing for the women’s. 

Pakistan is the notable absentee in this edition due to their escalating hostilities with India following surgical strikes in response to the Uri attacks.

This event comes close on the heels of the Standard Style Kabaddi World Cup that ended last month with India winning the title for the third time. India will be aiming to replicate that same success in this one as well.

The hosts have won this tournament every year since its inception and will be gunning for their sixth crown in men’s and the fourth in women’s. 

This competition, which is conducted every year by the Government of Punjab, was declared open by the Honourable Chief Minister of Punjab Mr. Parkash Singh Badal and the Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal. As a tribute to the founding father of the Indian Constitution Dr. BR Ambedkar on his 125th birthday, the trophy has been dedicated to him this year.

Punjab’s gems from the sporting world – former India hockey captain Rajpal Singh, athletics star Mandeep Kaur and kabaddi icon Gurpreet Singh were there to lend their support. They also took part in lighting the flame during the inauguration ceremony.

Punjabi singers Jaspinder Narula, Sharry Maan, and Gippy Grewal as well as comedy queen Bharti Singh put up dazzling performances to kick off this competition on a grand note.

The event will culminate with a grand finale on November 17. Last year it was not held due to the controversy surrounding the desecration incidents of the Guru Granth Sahib and the subsequent protests that took the state of Punjab by storm.

The Indian Squad:

Jashanpreet Singh, Gurlal Singh, Sultan Singh, Sukhwinder Singh Kala, Manjot Singh, Sandeep Singh, Khushdeep Singh, Ranjodh Singh, Yadwinder Singh, Lovepreet Singh and Karamjit Singh, Jagmohan Singh Makhi, Gurpreet Singh.


The men’s teams:

India, England, USA, Canada, Argentina, Australia, Iran, Sweden, Tanzania, Kenya and Sierra Leone

The women’s teams:

India, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, USA, Kenya, Sierra Leone, Mexico, Tanzania.

Topics you might be interested in:
A freelance journalist based in Kolkata who is a diehard Rafael Nadal fan. She is also extremely passionate about India’s progress in sports and hopes to throw light on India’s unsung sports heroes through her articles. When not screaming her lungs out in support of her favourite sports stars, she can be seen reading, watching movies or immersed in planning her next travel destination!
Fetching more content...