Favorites Edit

Senior Kabaddi Federation Cup set to take place in February

2.92K   //    13 Jan 2018, 16:25 IST

The National
The biggest PKL stars will be back in action

The 65th Senior National Kabaddi Championships came to a sparkling end on January 5 earlier this year as Maharashtra were crowned champions after defeating Services in a thrilling final. All of the nation's biggest stars, who wowed fans in the Pro Kabaddi League, were in action at the Nationals as it was UP Yoddha star Rishank Devadiga who led his young side to the trophy for the first time in 11 years.

While the dates for the next season of the PKL are still to be decided, there is big news for fans of the sport in the country as another tournament, which will once again feature the Indian kabaddi mega-stars, is set to take place in February.

The 3rd Senior Federation Cup will be held in Mumbai and organized by the Maharashtra Kabaddi Association. Sources close to the Amateur Kabaddi Federation of India have informed Sportskeeda that the tentative dates for the same are February 9-12.

The tournament will feature the top eight teams from the Nationals in both the men's and women's sections. Thus in the men's category, the participating teams will be Karnataka, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Haryana, Rajasthan, Services and Railways.

All eight teams will have a host of Pro Kabaddi stars in their ranks. Karnataka are expected to feature the likes of Sukesh Hegde, Shabeer Bapu and Jeeva Kumar while Uttarakhand will have star raider Pardeep Narwal and all-rounder Sunil Kumar.

Maharashtra, the national champions, will have names such as Rishank Devadiga and Girish Ernak, and leading the Uttar Pradesh side will be Rahul Chaudhari. Haryana will be the all-star team, with Anup Kumar, Manjeet Chhillar and Sandeep Narwal all in the same lineup and Rajasthan will have the fearsome trio of Deepak Hooda, Wazir Singh and Sachin Tawar.

The Services team will be another star-studded side, with Nitin Tomar, Surjeet Singh, Monu Goyat and Ajay all in the team. Last but not the least, the Railways team too will have names such as Mohit Chhillar, Rohit Gulia, Parvesh Bhainswal and Vikas Khandola.

In the women's section, the eight participating teams will be Railways, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Kerala, Himachal Pradesh and Maharashtra.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...