The Best FIFA Awards 2021 LIVE: Robert Lewandowski wins Men's Player of the Year Award

By Sportskeeda Desk | Last ModifiedJan 18, 2022 00:59 IST

The Best FIFA Awards 2021 LIVE: Lionel Messi, Mohamed Salah and Robert Lewandowski top 3 nominees


00:59 (IST)18 JAN 2022

That's a wrap, folks! Apart from Alexia Putellas not making the FIFPro World XI, there weren't too many surprises, in my opinion. That was a lovely ceremony, with Robert Lewandowski winning the Best FIFA Men's Player of the Year award for the second season running.

It's been a long night, but I hope you enjoyed my coverage. Until next time, this is Vishal Subramanian signing off. Tata! 

00:56 (IST)18 JAN 2022

00:53 (IST)18 JAN 2022

And finally, Cristiano Ronaldo has been named as the recipient of the Men's Lifetime Achievement Award for becoming the highest-scoring player in the history of international football, with 115 goals for Portugal and counting. 

00:50 (IST)18 JAN 2022

00:49 (IST)18 JAN 2022

The Polish hitman has managed to retain the award and deservedly wins another personal accolade. Tough luck to Mohamed Salah and Lionel Messi, who are world-class players in their own right...

00:48 (IST)18 JAN 2022


00:47 (IST)18 JAN 2022

Right then, here we go! The big one's here, as we edge closer to finding out the winner of the Best FIFA Men's Player of the Year 2021! 

00:46 (IST)18 JAN 2022

Alexia Putellas won the 2021 Ballon d'Or and also the Best Women's Player of the Year award, but she didn't make the FIFPro Women's World XI.... Erm, how's that happened?! 

00:44 (IST)18 JAN 2022

Alexia Putellas is the Best FIFA Women's Player of the Year 2021!

00:39 (IST)18 JAN 2022

00:39 (IST)18 JAN 2022

00:37 (IST)18 JAN 2022

We've been bamboozled by a 3-3-4 formation but all jokes aside, that is such a star-studded team! 

00:36 (IST)18 JAN 2022

FIFA FIFPro Men's World XI: Gianluigi Donnarumma, Ruben Dias, Leonardo Bonucci, David Alaba, Jorginho, N'Golo Kante, Kevin De Bruyne, Cristiano Ronaldo, Erling Haaland, Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski

00:33 (IST)18 JAN 2022

Arsene Wenger and Lothar Matthaus are on stage to announce the FIFPro Men's World XI 2021! 

00:31 (IST)18 JAN 2022

00:30 (IST)18 JAN 2022

FIFPro Women's World XI 2021 (4-3-3): Christiane Endler, Lucy Bronze, Wendy Renard, Milie Bright, Magdalena Eriksson, Estefania Banini, Carli Lloyd, Barbara Bonansea, Viviene Miedema, Marta, Alex Morgan

00:26 (IST)18 JAN 2022

The Finnish representative has just delivered a very eloquent statement as he spoke us through his experience. 

Once it was announced that Christian Eriksen's life was out of danger, the Danish fans started 'Christian" chants, with the Finnish fans following it up with "Eriksen" shouts in what was one of the most emotional moments of 2021. Football is not referred to as the beautiful game for nothing... 

00:21 (IST)18 JAN 2022

Denmark and Finland's fans have won the FIFA Fan Award 2021 for the reaction from both sets of fans after Christian Eriksen collapsed on the pitch...

00:19 (IST)18 JAN 2022

Julio Cesar is here to announce the winner of the FIFA Fan Award 2021! 

00:16 (IST)18 JAN 2022

00:15 (IST)18 JAN 2022

🚨🚨Thomas Tuchel is the Best FIFA Men's Coach of the Year 2021! 🚨🚨

00:13 (IST)18 JAN 2022

Arsene Wenger is on stage to announce the winner of the Best FIFA Men's Coach of the Year 2021! Love watching him speak, he truly is one of the greatest coaches of all time. 

00:10 (IST)18 JAN 2022

Emma Hayes has been named the Best FIFA Women's Coach of the Year 2021! 

00:09 (IST)18 JAN 2022

Jill Ellis is present virtually to announce the winner of the Best FIFA Women's Coach of the Year award... 

00:05 (IST)18 JAN 2022

00:05 (IST)18 JAN 2022

The FIFA Fair Play Award 2021 goes to Denmark and their medical team for their heroic act at Euro 2020 in the incident involving Christian Eriksen.

00:02 (IST)18 JAN 2022

A classy touch to pay tribute to Gerd Muller, who sadly passed away in 2020 aged 75. Der Bomber was undoubtedly one of the greatest goalscorers of all time and will be remembered for a long, long time for his achievements. 

00:00 (IST)18 JAN 2022

23:59 (IST)17 JAN 2022

What an unbelievable goal it was against Arsenal in the north London derby, the sheer audacity to attempt a Rabona in such a situation... 

23:59 (IST)17 JAN 2022


23:57 (IST)17 JAN 2022

Looking back at some of the goals, wow they've been some absolute scorchers! 

23:54 (IST)17 JAN 2022

23:54 (IST)17 JAN 2022

Yaya Toure has just rocked up to the stage sporting a killer suit to announce the winner of the 2021 Puskas Award! 

23:51 (IST)17 JAN 2022

Chelsea goalkeeper Edouard Mendy wins The Best FIFA Men's Goalkeeper of the Year 2021!

23:48 (IST)17 JAN 2022

Peter Schmeichel is now on stage to announce the winner of the Men's Goalkeeper of the Year award, this is going to be interesting! 

23:48 (IST)17 JAN 2022

23:46 (IST)17 JAN 2022


23:45 (IST)17 JAN 2022

England legend Fara Williams has been invited to the stage to announce the winner of the FIFA Women's Best Goalkeeper of the Year award... 

23:43 (IST)17 JAN 2022

23:43 (IST)17 JAN 2022

23:40 (IST)17 JAN 2022

Christine Sinclair has been recognized for her outstanding achievements over the years. The Canadian icon has 188 goals to her name and has just delivered a heartwarming speech, thanking her friends, family, teammates and staff members for all the support. 

23:35 (IST)17 JAN 2022

Live tweeting an awards ceremony is turning out to be much more difficult than doing so for a game of football, so bear with me as I try to bring you all the updates... 

23:34 (IST)17 JAN 2022

FIFA President Gianni Infantino has just been invited on stage, we're almost there now. 

23:32 (IST)17 JAN 2022

It has just been announced that two new awards will be handed out tonight! Any guesses folks? 

23:31 (IST)17 JAN 2022


We're up and running in Zurich! 

23:29 (IST)17 JAN 2022

Who do you think will come out on top?

Here are Sportskeeda's predictions ahead of the awards ceremony! 

23:28 (IST)17 JAN 2022

If anyone's joined the coverage late, the ceremony can be streamed on YouTube on FIFA's Official channel

23:27 (IST)17 JAN 2022

Fasten your seatbelts ladies and gentlemen, the ceremony will commence shortly! 

FOUR minutes to go! 

23:17 (IST)17 JAN 2022

As for the coach of the year award, there are some unbelievable names out there who just can't be separated. Thomas Tuchel's instant impact at Chelsea, however, was the most commendable coaching achievement in my personal opinion, so I wouldn't be surprised if he were to win it.

His compatriot Jurgen Klopp won the last two editions of the award, so will it be a German hat-trick? 
chat-icon Live Chat online
App download animated image Get the free App now