New User posted their first comment

Super Flyweight

Super Flyweight (also known as junior bantamweight or light bantamweight) is a weight class in professional boxing. Weight classes are categories in which competition is divided into to match competitors of the same size against each other. In professional boxing, super flyweight boxers weigh between 112 pounds (51 kg) and 115 pounds (52 kg).

The Asian and Latin American members of the WBC pressurized the body to sanction a title match for this wight class in 1980 because they felt that the difference between the flyweight limit and bantamweight limit was too much. The bout for the inaugural title was fought between Rafael Orono and Seung-Hoon-Lee in February of 1980. In 1981, the WBA held its first bout for the title between Gustavo Ballas and Sok-Chul Baek with Ballas coming out the victor. In 1983, the first IBF champion of the weightclass was crowned as Ju-Do Chun when he knocked out Ken Kasugai.

Ellyas Pical, Gilberto Román, Jiro Watanabe, Moon Sung-kil, Nana Konadu, Mark Johnson, Johnny Tapia, Robert Quiroga, Danny Romero, Vic Darchinyan, Khaosai Galaxy, Samson Dutch Boy Gym, Nonito Donaire, Román González, Carlos Cuadras, Tepparith Singwancha, Naoya Inoue, McJoe Arroyo and Srisaket Sor Rungvisai are notable champions from this division.

The record for the most consecutive title defenses is held by Khaosai Galaxy with 19 defenses of the WBA title.

The following table lists the current champions of different sanctioning bodies.

Sanctioning Body Reign BeganChampionRecordDefenses
WBADecember 10, 2016Khalid Yafai23-0-0 (14 KO)2
WBCMarch 18, 2017Srisaket Sor Rungvisai45-4-1 (40 KO)2
IBFSeptember 3, 2016Jerwin Ancajas29-1-1 (20 KO)4


UFC: Road to being "Double Champ!"

UFC: Road to being "Double Champ!"

Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now