Favorites Edit

Dipika Pallikal defeats Aisling Blake

1.12K   //    04 Mar 2010, 00:25 IST

India’s second best woman star, Dipika Pallikal hogged the limelight with a clinical upset win over second seed Aisling Blake of Ireland to commence a fruitful day for both home grown men and women stars in the final qualifying matches of the PSA and WISPA Chennai Open 2010 squash champions here at the Indian Squash Academy this evening.

Dipika Pallikal

Having won in straight games against Blake 11-8, 11-6, 11-5 in 31 minutes, Pallikal has a tough task ahead since been drawn to meet world number one and top seed Nicol David in the main draw that starts from tomorrow.  Wild card, Joshna Chinappa, the top Indian star is drawn to play Kasey Brown (7th seed) of Australia.

In the men’s final qualifying events this evening, Gaurav Nandrajog (ranked 174) was the lone player among four on view to bite the dust going down fighting to highly ranked Kristian Frost Oslesen (107) of Denmark 11-9, 9-11, 6-11, 8-11 in a marathon 73 minutes .

Playing on centre court, both Ritwik Bhattacharya and Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu did not exert themselves much in making the main draw, while Siddharth Suchde had an easy time against his compatriot Vikas Jangra 11-7, 11-1, 11-5 in minutes.

Bhattacharya dropped a game before quelling the challenge of Stuart Crawford of Scotland 11-8, 8-11, 11-2, 13-11 in 35 minutes, while Sandhu test his own skills of tiring the rival in his smooth 11-7, 11-6, 13-11 win over Elvinn Keo of Malaysia in 38 minutes.  The first round main draw fight between Sandhu and fourth seeded Saurav Ghosal tomorrow is expected to be a thriller.

In the other women’s final qualifying matches, top seeded Donna Urquhart of Australia showed her experience in gaining vital match points in the second and third games before downing Anaka Alankamony of India 11-3, 12-10, 12-10 in 26 minutes. The Indian lass, who scored a WISPA title on her debut in a tournament at the same courts in October last, was gritty in adjusting to the game of one of the more senior player on the circuit.  Alankamony matched point for point in the second and third games but lacked the finish in the dying moments, particularly in yielding the games on extra points.

Results of final qualifying matches:


Siddharth Suchde (Ind) bt Vikas Jangra (Ind) 11-7, 11-1, 11-5 (30 mins). Siddharth plays Chris Simpson (7th seed).

Ritwik Bhattacharya (ind) bt Stuart Crawford (Scot) 11-8, 8-11, 11-2, 13-11 (35 mins). Bhattacharya take on Alan Clyne (Sco-8th seed).

Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu (Ind) bt Elvinn Keo (Mas) 11-7, 11-6, 13-11 (38 mins). Sandhu plays Saurav Ghosal (Ind-4thseed)

Kristian Frost Olesen (Den) bt Gaura Nandrajog (Ind) 9-11, 11-9, 11-6, 11-8 (73 mins). Olesen plays Jonathan Kemp (Eng-2nd seed) and


Dipika Palikal (Ind-7th seed) bt Aisling Blake (Ire-2nd seed) 11-8, 11-6, 11-5 (31 mins). Palikal plays top seed Nicol David

Delia Arnold (Mas-3rd bt Joey Chan (Hgk-5th seed) 11-7, 11-5, 11-9 (39 mins). Arnold plays Rachael Grinham (Aus-3rdseed).

Low Wee Wern (Mas-6th seed) bt Sharon Wee (Mas—4th seed) 11-5, 11-4, 11-5 (25 mins). Wern plays Laura Massaro (Eng-5th seed).

Donna Urquhart(Aus-Top seed) bt Anaka Alankamony (Ind-8th seed) 11-3, 12-10, 12-10 (26 mins). Urquhaart plays Samantha Teran (Mex-8th seed).

Your one-stop source for sports news from all over the world.
Fetching more content...