Chennai Spartans


Full NameChennai Spartans


Team Owner(s)Chennai Spartans Pvt. Ltd.

Prominent PlayersNaveen Raja Jacob, Vibin George


Chennai Spartans is a professional Volleyball team that represents the state of Chennai, India. The team will participate in the newly founded RuPay Pro Volleyball League. Chennai have a 12 man squad which is being coached by M H Kumara.

Rudy Verheoff, born in Canada has a promising career in country and clubs.The Canadian player is the international icon for Spartans. He has a gold in 2016 Olympics, silver medals at the NORCECA Men’s Volleyball Championship in 2015 and 2013 respectively and bronze at the 2015 Pan American Games. The Indian icon for Chennai is Akhin G S who has a tremendous height advantage over most players. He has represented India in the recent Asian Games.

The Chennai Spartans have a yellow coloured jersey with the team logo on the right side of the chest. Their logo comprises of a black coloured knight and a white colored volleyball ball. Their social media cover has hashtagged VaaNamba and has a slogan of “ Once city has won them all be it heart or a game”.


The team of Chennai Spartans is owned by Kals Group & Sri Progressive Projects. The group has its business plans in liquor retailing, motor fuel and lube, transport and logistics as well as FMCG distribution. The owners have shared their interest in developing the players from the grass-root levels and change the scenario of volleyball in India.

Key Players

Chennai Spartans have a strong blocking line up with icon players Rudy Verheoff and Akhin G S. Ruslans Sorokins who is 2012 Olympian has tons of experience and is a brilliant attacker. Shelton Moses who led Tamil Nadu nationals is also a very impressive player and will captain the side in the league.


NameDate of BirthHeightRoleNationality
Naveen Raja Jacob24-05-1988188 cmAttackerIndia
Vibin George15-05-1984191 cmAttackerIndia
Piraisoodan19-07-1993186 cmAttackerIndia
Ruslans Sorokins11-03-1982196 cmAttackerLatvia
Shelton Moses06-09-1984200 cmBlockerIndia
A Bhagyaraj10-04-2000203 cmBlockerIndia
Rudy Verheoff24-06-1989199 cmBlockerCanada
Akhin G S10-05-1991204 cmBlockerIndia
K.J.Kapildev31-05-1978192 cmSetterIndia
V. Hariharan22-12-1993189 cmSetterIndia
Prabhakaran P05-07-1995173 cmLiberoIndia
Ashwin09-11-1998196 cmUniversalIndia
Fetching more content...