Malaga CF Football


Malaga Club de Fútbol or simply Malaga CF, is a Spanish football club based in Malaga, Spain. CD Malaga had a reserve club, founded on May 25, 1948 when CD Malaga took over a junior club, CD Santo Tomas, with the purpose of establishing a reserve team. The club was renamed Club Atlético Malagueño, reviving the name of one of the two clubs that had merged to form CD Malaga in 1933. They made a solitary appearance in the UEFA Intertoto Cup in 2002, clinching their only official trophy by beating Gent, Willem II, and Villarreal CF. The club has played 31 seasons in La Liga, 34 in Segunda Division, four in Segunda Division B and eleven in Tercera Division. They also won the UEFA Intertoto Cup in 2002 and qualified to the following season's UEFA Cup, reaching the quarter-final stages. They have also qualified to the 2012–13 UEFA Champions League. The team currently plays in Spain's La Liga. The owner of the club since 2010 is Qatari investor Abdullah bin Nasser bin Abdullah Al Ahmed Al Thani. Some of the club's mention worthy players include: Carlos Kameni, Francisco Portillo, Ignacio Camacho, Joaquín, Eliseu, Francisco Portillo etc
Fetching more content...