PBL 2018: A look back at the previous season

PBL Season 4
PBL Season 4

Premier Badminton League season 4 will commence on December 22 with a high stake clash between Rio Olympics Silver medalist PV Sindhu and Rio Olympics Gold Medalist Carolina Marin.

PBL season 4 is expected to entertain the badminton fans in India to the fullest as its third season too gave Badminton fans a lot of moments to cheer on. But there is one disappointment that has struck the Indian badminton fans as world no. 1 Tai Tzu Ying won't be competing this season.

There were many nail-biting clashes in season 3. Last season opened with old foes Carolina Marin and PV Sindhu playing against each other which Sindhu lost in three sets. Carolina also defeated Saina Nehwal in straight sets but Marin's winning streak didn't last for long as she went to lose both of her encounters against Sung Ji Hyun of Korea. Also, Marin pulled out of her match against Tai Tzu Ying.

On the other hand, Sindhu defeated Tai Tzu Ying in a tight three games match in front of her home crowd in Chennai.

Last to last year Sindhu represented Chennai Smashers whereas this year she represents Hyderabad Hunters. Chennai Smashers went on to lift the coveted trophy defeating Mumbai Rockets 4-3 in that year.

Mumbai Rockets had made it to the finals of last two seasons of the Premier Badminton League but had to settle for the second best both the times. But this time it will surely be looking to turn things around and win the title.

Jwala Gutta might have retired from the international badminton circuit but many fans were expecting to see her play in PBL 2018 but she won't be playing this season. In 2017 she was appointed as the head doubles coach of Indian National camp. But she won't be seen even coaching any team.

For the last three seasons, Lee Chong Wei was the biggest attraction for the badminton league. But he too won't be playing this season as he is still recovering from his cancer surgeries.

In Foreign players, Carolina Marin, Lee Yong Dae, Viktor Axelsen and the husband-wife duo of Chris Adcock-Gabby Adcock will be the centre of attraction.

All the 9 franchises will play for the coveted trophy for 23 days in different ties. The finals will take place on 13th of January 2019 in Bengaluru.

Star network has bought the Broadcasting rights of PBL season. The matches will also be telecasted live on Hotstar.

Edited by Kishan Prasad
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now