Favorites Edit

2018-19 Premier Badminton League

22 Dec 2018 - 13 Jan 2019

Premier Badminton League is a professional badminton league in India where in different franchises from various cities in India compete for the title. It was formerly known as the Indian Badminton League (IBL) when founded in 2013 but the name was later changed to Premier Badminton League before the start of the second season in 2016.

The 2018 Premier Badminton League will be held from 22nd December 2018 and will end on 13th January 2019.


In the inaugural season of the Premier Badminton League, Hyderabad Hotspots (then name) beat Awadhe Warriors in the final by three games to one at Mumbai's Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Indoor Stadium in 2013.

In the next edition of the 2016 Premier Badminton League, Delhi Acers (then name) defeated Mumbai Rockets 4-3 to lift the trophy in 2016. The 2017 PBL was won by Chennai Smashers who took the spoils with a hard-fought 4-3 victory over Mumbai Rockets.


The schedule for this year's Premier Badminton League will be announced in only a few days time by the Sportz & Live Private Limited (Sportzlive), which has all the rights to operate and execute the Premier Badminton League.


There is a new franchise in the league, Pune 7 Aces which will go one on one with the remaining eight ones. The full list of franchises includes Ahmedabad Smash Masters, Awadhe Warriors, Bengaluru Blasters, Delhi Dashers, Hyderabad Hunters, Mumbai Rockets, North Eastern Warriors, and the very new, Pune 7 Aces.

PBL Squads

Ahmedabad Smash Masters:

Viktor Axelsen, Anoushka Parikh, Daren Liew, K Nandagopal, Kirsty Gilmour, Lee Chun Hei Reginald, N. Sikki Reddy, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Sourabh Verma, and Vaishnavi Bhale.

Awadhe Warriors:

Arjun M R, Ashwini Ponnappa, Beiwen Zhang, Lee Dong Keun, Mathias Christiansen, R M V Gurusaidutt, Rashika Raje, Sanyogita Ghorpade, Son Wan Ho, and Yang Lee.

Bengaluru Raptors:

Kidambi Srikanth, B Sai Praneeth, Hendra Setiawan, Lauren Smith, Marcus Ellis, Mithun Manjunath, Mohammad Ahsan, Sanjana Santosh, Thi Trang Yu, and Tien Minh Nguyen.

Chennai Smashers:

Chris Adcock, B Sumeeth Reddy, Gabrielle Adcock, Or Chin Chung, Parupalli Kashyap, Rajiv Ouseph, Rutuparna Panda, Saili Rane, Sung Ji Hyun, and Wei Feng Chong.

Delhi Dashers:

H S Prannoy, Chai Biad, Chia Hsin, Lee, Chirag Sen, Evgeniya Kosetskaya, Harika Veludurthi, Maneepong Jongjit, Tommy Sugiarto, Vighnesh Devlekar, and Wang Sijie.

Hyderabad Hunters:

P V Sindhu, Arun George, Bodin Isara, Eom Hye Won, Kim Sa Rang, Lee Hyun IL, Mark Caljouw, Meghana Jakkampudi, Rahul Yadav Chittaboina, Sai Uttejitha, and Rao Chukka.

Mumbai Rockets:

Lee Yong Dae, Anders Antonsen, Anura Prabhudesai, Kim Gi Jung, Kuhoo Garg, Manu Attri, Pia Zebadiah, Pratul Joshi, Sameer Verma, and Shreyanshi Pardeshi.

North Eastern Warriors:

Saina Nehwal, Dhruv Kapila, K Maneesha, Kim Ha Na, Liao Min Chun, Rituparna Das, Siril Verma, Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk, Tian Houwei, and Yoo Yeon Seong.

Pune 7 Aces:

Mathias Boe, Ajay Jayaram, Brice Leverdez, Carolina Marin, Chitra Shekhar Shetty, Lakshya Sen, Line Hojmark, Prajakta Sawant, Sony Dwi Kuncord, and Vladimir Ivanov.

Players to watch out for

The trio of Srikanth Kidambi, P V Sindhu and Saina Nehwal will again be in the spotlight. Fans are eagerly awaiting how will their stars fare in this season's tournament. Lee Yong Dae and Carolina Marin will look to repeat their heroics in the league. The current world number one Viktor Axelsen will surely make Ahmedabad Smash Masters, a side to look out for.

Fetching more content...