Favorites Edit

2018 Asia Cup moved from India to UAE

Aadya Sharma
8.42K   //    10 Apr 2018, 17:25 IST

India had won the
India had won the 2016 Asia Cup

The 2018 edition of the Asia Cup has been moved from India to the United Arab Emirates. Along with it, the Emerging Nations' Asia Cup, which was originally scheduled to be held in April, will now be held in December and will be co-hosted by Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

The previous Asia Cup was held in 2016, just before the World T20, and was the first tournament to take place in the T20 format.

Najam Sethi, PCB's chairman, spoke to ESPNCricinfo and conceded that the reason for the shift is due to the political turmoil that is currently affecting India and Pakistan.

"The ACC deliberated on the matter and decided that this was the best way forward," he told the website.

The 2016 Asia Cup, the 13th edition of the tournament, was won by India, defeating hosts Bangladesh by eight wickets to win their sixth title.

The 2018 edition will feature six teams, five of them being full-members India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, as well as Afghanistan, with the final team being decided on the basis of a playoff between UAE, Nepal, Oman and Hong Kong.

Pakistan will also host the Annual General Meeting, the next one set to be held later this year.

More to follow...

Topics you might be interested in:
Aadya Sharma
Fetching more content...