⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

5 biggest Indian triumphs in T20 internationals

Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 27 Dec 2017, 15:27 IST

Pakistan v India - Twenty20 Championship Final
India became the first ever World T20 champions in 2007 after defeating Pakistan

2007 T20 World Cup Final, Yuvraj Singh's comeback in the third T20I of India’s tour of Australia in 2016, the Virat Kohli show in the 2016 T20 World Cup against Australia at Mohali - these might be some of the closest and hard-fought Indian wins in T20Is. However, these were certainly not the biggest of wins (in terms of runs).

In the recently concluded three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka, the Men in Blue broke various records. The comprehensive victories at Cuttack (93 runs) and Indore (88 runs) made their way into the list of biggest margin of T20I wins as well.

So, to refresh our memory, let us have a look at the times when Team India completely decimated the opposition in T20 Internationals.

#5 India vs Australia 2014, Victory Margin - 73 runs

Australia v India - Game 2

In the 2014 T20 World Cup, MSD & co. met Australia at Dhaka in one of the most highly anticipated matches of the group stage. Australia won the toss and put India to bat first.

The Men in Blue were tottering at 66-4 at one point after early departures of Rohit, Rahane and Kohli. Yuvraj Singh's 60-run knock then helped India shrug off the initial jerks. The stylish southpaw was well complemented by a 24-run contribution from MS Dhoni as the duo extended the total to a decent 159.

Australia could never get going as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals. The Indian bowlers showed exemplary discipline and did not let the Aussies cut loose. The new ball bowlers, Bhuvi and Ashwin bowled tight line and lengths and as a result, Australia were left struggling at 27-3 at the end of the powerplay overs.

Eventually, the star-studded Australian batting line-up got bundled out for 86 in the 17th over. Ashwin was the stand out performer, picking up 4 wickets and rightfully bagged the Man of the Match award.

1 / 5 NEXT
Published 27 Dec 2017, 15:27 IST
Fetching more content...