Favorites Edit

5 contenders for Emerging Cricketer of the Year at ICC Awards 2017

Sujith Mohan
Top 5 / Top 10
32.89K   //    25 Oct 2017, 11:46 IST

ICC introduced its annual awards in 2004 and from then on, every year they recognise the best individual and team performances across formats.

Emerging Player of the Year is one of those important categories at the ICC awards. The accolade is given to a young and upcoming cricketer who has done exceedingly well in the last 12 months.

While Fakhar Zaman scored a brilliant 100 in the ICC Champions Trophy finals, Travis Head was brilliant for Australia. The 21-year-old Andile Phehlukwayo played a key role in South Africa's limited overs success and Alzarri Joseph from West Indies grew into one of the most promising young fast bowler in international cricket.

These performances were amazing but here in this article, we are going to talk about those exceptional young cricketers who took the world by storm and can win the Emerging Cricketer of the Year award.

Eligibility Criteria: Players eligible for this award must be under 26 years of age at the start of the voting period (21st September 2016) and should have played not more than five Tests and/or 10 ODIs before that date.

#5 Kuldeep Yadav

Image result for kuldeep yadav
India's future

The slow left-arm chinaman bowler from UP made his international debut in a test match against Australia in March 2017 and became the first slow-left-arm chinaman bowler to represent India national team in Test cricket.

The rising start of Indian cricket has gone from strength to strength since and has become a permanent fixture in the Indian limited overs side. He possesses excellent variations and can beat the batsmen in the air. In his very short career so far, he has already picked up 33 international wickets.

Kuldeep has formed a partnership with leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal and they are arguably the most deadly spin duo in limited overs cricket right now.

Stats since Sept'2016

1 / 5 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Sujith Mohan
Chennai Super Kings, Manchester United
Fetching more content...