⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

5 ODI Batting record charts dominated by Indians

Akash Singhal
Top 5 / Top 10
Published 24 Nov 2018, 23:07 IST
24 Nov 2018, 23:07 IST

Australia v India - Tri-Series Game 10

ODI batting has always been one of the strong points for India, with many batsmen making it big in the international arena. While there have been many great batsmen across the world, India has always been among the topmost countries when it comes to batting prowess.

Sachin Tendulkar was one of the first ones to be known as a great limited overs batsman, and many others followed suit.

While the likes of Brian Lara, Ricky Ponting, Kumar Sangakkara and others have been great batsmen worldwide, India seems to be leading the charts with a long list of batsmen worth being considered legendary.

The ODI record charts also show the same picture. Indians come on top of many batting records, the best of these are given here:

Most Batsmen to Score 10000 runs in ODIs

Before Virat Kohli, India have seen 4 legendary cricketers crossing the 10,000 run mark
Before Virat Kohli, India have seen 4 legendary cricketers crossing the 10,000 run mark

Any batsman achieving a landmark of 10000 runs in ODI cricket is a big feat for him. Even a team like England who were the oldest ones to play cricket, do not have a single batsman to have touched the mark. But when we talk about India, they have the highest number of batsmen to have achieved the feat, Five.

India have MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly and Sachin Tendulkar as the batsmen to cross the 10000 run mark, the highest in the world. Sri Lanka are a close second with 4 such batsmen in Dilshan, Sangakkara, Jayawardene and Jayasuriya. With no other batsman from the Island country currently going strong, India’s position at the top seems secure.

India could have been having an even stronger position at the top, had the two legends, Virender Sehwag (8273 runs) and Yuvraj Singh (8701 runs) also crossed the 10000 run mark.

1 / 5 NEXT
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 20:01 IST
Fetching more content...