BCCI announce squad for first two test matches against Sri Lanka; Murali Vijay makes a comeback

Murali Vijay and KL Rahul are expected to open the innings for India in the test series
Modified 23 Aug 2018

Along with the squad for the three T20Is against New Zealand next month, Indian selectors have also announced the team for India's first two test matches against Sri Lanka.

While Virat Kohli has not been rested, Abhinav Mukund has been dropped in favour of Murali Vijay, who returns after recovering from an ankle injury. India's premier test spinners, Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin have also been included in the squad while Kuldeep Yadav is in the squad to serve as the third choice spinner.

Similarly, long-format specialists Cheteshwar Pujara and Wriddhiman Saha have also made the cut along with the fast bowling trio of Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami and Ishant Sharma.

The ODI series against New Zealand will be done and dusted with on the 29th of October, and within a fortnight, the three-match T20I series will also commence, with the last T20I to be played on 7th November.

Also Read: India announce squad for T20I series against New Zealand

Subsequently, the three-test series against the travelling Sri Lankan unit begins on 16th November at Kolkata, while the second test is being scheduled for 24th November in Nagpur. The third test will be played in Delhi from 2nd December. The Lankans will play three-match ODI and T20I series as well.

Moreover, the touring Lankan side will also play a two-day warm-up tie against the Board President XI, the team for which has been announced as well.

Board President Squad: Naman Ojha (captain)(wk), Sanju Samson, Jiwanjot Singh, B Sandeep, Tanmay Agarwal, Abhishek Gupta, Rohan Prem, Akash Bhandari, Jalaj Saxena, CV Milind, Avesh Khan, Sandeep Warrier, Ravi Kiran.

Indian Test Squad (2 matches): Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Mohamed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma.

Published 23 Oct 2017
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now