⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

BPL 2019: 5 best matches in Bangladesh Premier League history

  • These five matches became historic due to individual brilliance and nail-biting finishes.
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 20:46 IST

The 6th edition of Bangladesh Premier League will be played in 2019
The 6th edition of Bangladesh Premier League will be played in 2019

After seeing the huge fan base of the Indian Premier League, Bangladesh also tried initiating the same in their country and it attained an amazing response from the cricket lovers due to the involvement of many famous foreign players.

The inaugural edition of the Bangladesh Premier League was played in the year 2012 with 6 teams - Dhaka Dynamites, Comilla Victorians, Chittagong Vikings, Khulna Titans, Rajshahi Kings, and Sylhet Superstars. The seventh team known as Rangpur Riders made an entry into the BPL from its second edition.

Dhaka Dynamites have so far emerged as the most successful team from the Bangladesh Premier League as they have won 3 out of the total 5 seasons of BPL. Currently, Rangpur Riders are sitting on the throne of BPL as they defeated the 3 times champions, Dhaka Dynamites in the final of the 5th season.

The Bangladeshi cricketers have gained confidence and momentum through this tournament. Mahmudullah and Shakib Al Hasan are the best examples of it as they are at the top-most position in this format when it comes to runs and wickets. There have been several nail-biting matches in the BPL so far, which may never fade away from the memory of the fans.

Let us take a look at the 5 best matches in the BPL history so far are:

#5 Rangpur Riders vs Dhaka Dynamites (2017)

Gayle Storm has blown away each and every league around the globe
Gayle Storm has blown away each and every league around the globe

Universe Boss, as he is fondly called, Chris Gayle made the final match of BPL 2017 a memorable one. He sailed his team to an unimaginable score of 211/1 which proved to be very high for the Dhaka team.

Gayle played an unbeaten knock of 146 runs at a sparkling strike rate of 211.59 smashing 18 sixes in the grand finale. In the end, Dhaka Dynamites could score only 3 runs more than Gayle’s score as Riders won the match by 57 runs. 

With such a giant score on the board, Rangpur Riders lifted the trophy for the first time thanks to the contribution of Chris Gayle. Gayle was awarded the man of the match award for his mind-boggling innings which took his team over the boundary line, creating history. 


Follow Sportskeeda for all the latest Bangladesh Premier League schedule, scores, stats & previews.

1 / 5 NEXT
Published 03 Jan 2019, 23:30 IST
Fetching more content...