Favorites Edit

ECB slap Ravi Bopara and Tino Best with penalty points for misconduct during T20 Blast

947   //    06 Jul 2016, 23:24 IST
Tino Best Natwest T20 Blast West Indies
Tino Best had thrown the player in the opposition player’s direction in an angry manner

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has come down hard on the pair of Ravi Bopara and Tino Best for showing dissent during the Natwest T20 Blast contest between Essex and Hampshire on June 24, imposing three penalty points each on the two cricketers. The punishment will be valid for a period of two years and further acts of indiscipline could lead to a suspension.

The West Indies fast bowler and the English all-rounder were reported by match umpires Martin Saggers and Neil Bainton during the clash nearly two weeks ago for separate incidents and the ECB have decided to take action against the pair as well as the trio of Liam Livingstone, Ross Taylor and Philip Salt who were charged with lesser offences. 

Essex had beaten Hampshire by five wickets in the clash that was unfortunately marred by two heated incidents which brought the game into disrepute. Following his leg-before-wicket dismissal Essex all-rounder Bopara reacted angrily, indicating to umpire Bainton that the ball had nicked his bat on the way through. Though the wicket didn’t cost his side much as they soared to a convincing victory, Bopara was irate having been dismissed for nought.  

Best lost his cool even more though as he nearly caught opposition batsman Ashar Zaidi with a furious throw after being called for a wide. Luckily for Best, the ball missed the batsman, as well as the wicketkeeper, and instead went for four– no doubt adding to his frustration with the match slipping away from his side’s grasps.   

Also read: Tino Best: I became a playboy, slept with 500-650 women 

Both the cricketers were charged with a Level Two breach of the disciplinary code – Bopara for showing serious dissent at an umpire’s decision while Best was charged with throwing the ball near to the opposition player in a dangerous manner. 

The statement from ECB’s Cricket Discipline Commission read: "These penalties will remain on their records for a period of two years and the accumulation of nine, 18 or more penalty points in any two-year period will result in an automatic suspension."

Taylor and Salt were charged with a level One offence for showing dissent at the umpire’s decision during Sussex’s NatWest T20 Blast match against Gloucestershire on 26th June 2016 while Livingstone was also found guilty under the same chargeLancashire’s NatWest T20 Blast match against Worcestershire on 24th June 2016. The move follows ECB’s strict compliance to curb down on player indiscipline during their premier T20 competition. 

Topics you might be interested in:
An Engineer by education, Sports has been my true passion all along. Football, Cricket, and Tennis are what I follow the most. A Red Devil by heart. Dada fanatic and someone who idolises Sir Alex Ferguson for the way he managed to outwit money power with his man-management skills.
Fetching more content...