New User posted their first comment

Fields to lead Australia in ICC Women's World Cup

Modified 28 Dec 2012

Melbourne, Dec 28 (IANS):

Australia cricketer Jodie Fields will lead her side in the upcoming ICC Women’s World Cup to be held in India from Jan 31 to Feb 17.

Cricket Australia’s (CA) Women’s National Selection Panel (WNSP) Friday announced the 15-player squad for the tournament will take place at four venues in Mumbai.

The following is the squad: Jodie Fields (C), Alex Blackwell (VC), Jess Cameron, Sarah Coyte, Holly Ferling, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Julie Hunter, Jess Jonassen, Meg Lanning, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Lisa Sthalekar, Elyse Villani.

Commenting on the squad, WNSP chair of selectors Julie Savage said: “The WNSP have selected a powerful and well-balanced squad to contest the ICC Women’s World Cup India 2013.”

“Recent international matches suggest this will be a very closely contested event. England, as the No.1 ranked team, will be the tournament favourites, but the recent form of a resurgent New Zealand, as well as India on their home turf and the powerfully athletic West Indian team will provide tough contests throughout the entire event.”

Published 28 Dec 2012, 16:45 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now