Favorites Edit

ICC ODI Team Rankings: World Champions Australia retain ODI shield

Alagappan V
105.63K   //    31 Mar 2015, 12:58 IST
The Australian cricket team pose with the trophy during celebrations after winning the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup Final at Federation Square on March 30, 2015 in Melbourne, Australia.

World Cup winners Australia have retained the ODI Shield and have also won USD$175,000 after finishing as the number-one ranked ODI side at the 1 April cut-off date. India have collected USD$75,000 for finishing second.

Despite winning 8 of the 9 matches in the just concluded World Cup and ending as the runners-up, New Zealand could only manage fifth spot in the table. South Africa and Sri Lanka occupy the third and fourth place respectively. 

Bangladesh enjoyed their best World Cup campaign in cricketing history, getting the better of England in the group stage to qualify for the quarter-finals where they were defeated by India. However, that didn’t have much of an effect in the rankings table as they are still at the ninth spot behind the West Indies. England and Pakistan are at the sixth and seventh spot respectively. 

According to the new ICC rules, only the top 8 teams as on September 30, 2017, will directly qualify for the 2019 World Cup hosted by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB); the rest will have to battle it out in a 10-team ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier to be held in Bangladesh in 2018 for the remaining two spots. So, Bangladesh and West Indies – currently languishing at the bottom – will have to be at their best in the next two years to make sure they aren’t forced to play the qualifiers. 

Ranking  Country Rating Points
1 Australia 122
2 India 116
3 South Africa 112
4 Sri Lanka 108
5 New Zealand 107
6 England 101
7 Pakistan 95
8 West Indies 92
9 Bangladesh  76
10 Zimbabwe 50
11 Ireland  44
12 Afghanistan 38
Topics you might be interested in:
Alagappan V
Cricket deserves a Jose Mourinho!
Fetching more content...