Favorites Edit

‘ICC T20I Performance of the Year’ over the last 10 years

Top 5 / Top 10
12.15K   //    26 Mar 2018, 10:45 IST

Enter caption

The advent of T20 saw a larger number of viewers for cricket across the globe as the shortened format gave just the right dose of cricket entertainment. After the first T20I took place in 2005 between Australia and New Zealand, other teams started including T20 fixtures in their tours to promote the format and also for increased revenues.

ICC recognised that a 20-over World Cup once in two years would be just what cricket economics was looking for and thus took place the inaugural edition of the WT20 in 2007 in South Africa.

Ever since, the ICC has added an award to its list of awards, presented at the annual ICC Awards night, to recognise the most outstanding T20I performance in the period for which the awards are judged. The award has now been given ten times and no player has won it more than once.

Let us take a look at the brilliant performances that the ICC bestowed upon with the prestigious award:

2008: Yuvraj Singh 

On September 19, 2007, in a must-win match against England in the inaugural edition of the WT20 in South Africa, Yuvraj Singh created his history by smashing pacer Stuart Brand for six sixes in an over and in the process completed a twelve ball half century, the fastest in the format till date. 

Yuvraj’s innings, a 14-ball 58, not just helped India win the match but also changed the course of the tournament in India’s favour as Dhoni’s young brigade went on to defeat South Africa, Australia and Pakistan in consecutive matches to put their hands on the silverware.

Other contenders: MS Dhoni for leading India to WT20 glory; Chris Gayle’s 117 off 57 balls in the tournament opener; Brett Lee’s achievement of picking up the first hat-trick in the format against Bangladesh in the same event.

1 / 10 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...