Create & Earn
Favorites Edit

ICC to discuss no-ball ruling in the aftermath of the controversial Adam Voges 'non-dismissal'

Pranjal Mech
3.56K   //    13 Feb 2016, 12:06 IST
New Zealand Australia Cricket Bracewell Voges
The Kiwis express their disappointment after the umpire declared the delivery that had Voges dismissed a no-ball 

Not that it would give any ray of hope to New Zealand as Adam Voges continues to pile on runs against them, but the International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced that it will conduct a review of the no-ball rule after the Australian was handed a lifeline earlier on his innings with the on-field umpire incorrectly calling a legitimate delivery a no-ball for overstepping the line. 

The controversial incident happened towards the end of play on the opening day of the first Test between New Zealand and Australia that is being played at the Basin Reserve in Wellington. Left-armer Doug Bracewell, who was bowling the final over of the day, looked to have Voges dismissed off the fourth ball of his over after the ball seamed back in and crashed the off stump.

However, much to the hosts’ disappointment, English umpire Richard Illingworth had his arms raised wide indicating a front foot no-ball. The dismay quickly turned into anguish as replays on the big screen clearly showed that Bracewell had his foot behind the white line.

With the umpire having already made the call of the ball being illegal the batsman enjoyed a reprieve and Voges is well and truly making the most of it having already crossed the 150-run mark. The ICC defended the non-dismissal saying that while it is possible for the third umpire to overrule the on-field umpire when the latter fails to notice a no-ball, the situation vice versa is not admissible as the batsman would have been playing a particular shot under the assumption that he wouldn’t be dismissed. 

"The third umpire can review the fairness of delivery on the fall of a wicket but not review a no-ball that has been called on the field," an ICC spokesperson told “The ICC Cricket Committee has discussed this issue on a number of occasions and come to the same conclusion each time – it is not right that a batsman plays a delivery that is illegal, only to be told retrospectively that it was legal and that he is out by a mode of dismissal that would not have been allowed from an illegal delivery.”

He added though that the no-ball ruling will once again come up for discussion during the next meeting of the ICC Cricket Committee which is set to contemplate the further use of technology in assisting the on-field umpires. 

"The ICC Cricket Committee will be discussing the use of technology at its next meeting, and the topic of reviewing no-balls will again be part of that discussion," he said. 

Topics you might be interested in:
Pranjal Mech
An Engineer by education, Sports has been my true passion all along. Football, Cricket, and Tennis are what I follow the most. A Red Devil by heart. Dada fanatic and someone who idolises Sir Alex Ferguson for the way he managed to outwit money power with his man-management skills.
Fetching more content...