⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

ICC World Cup: 3 occasions when the Man of the Series wasn't from the Champion Nation

Top 5 / Top 10
Published May 22, 2019
May 22, 2019 IST

#3 Martin Crowe- 1992

Martin Crowe
Martin Crowe

Martin Crowe was the first-ever recipient of the Man of the Tournament award as he displayed some sensational batting skills at the 1992 Cricket World Cup. The Kiwi batsman had a spectacular tournament in his home nation as he managed to outscore every other player by scoring a total of 456 runs throughout the tournament.

With Martin at the helm and New Zealand's promising squad, they were tipped as the heavy favourites for the cup. The Kiwis reached the semifinals, where they were beaten by the eventual champions- Pakistan. Regardless of New Zealand's failure, Martin Crowe was still awarded the trophy for his masterclass with the bat.

Martin Crowe proved to be an exceptional leader as he captained his side to the semifinals.The New Zealand skipper was lauded by many as his deeds with the bat proved to be influential in New Zealand's commendable campaign. With the likes of Javed Miandad and Wasim Akram being in contention, Martin's achievement becomes extra special.

Fetching more content...