Most Centuries In World Cup

Last Modified Jul 15, 2019 13:51 IST

The ICC Cricket World Cup has experienced some stellar batting performances over the years. The first ever century in a World Cup game was scored by Dennis Amiss in the inaugural World Cup tournament. Since then, there have been 165 centuries in World Cups.

This year we have witnessed many centuries. Rohit Sharma alone scored 5 centuries with more matches yet to be played. He earned the most centuries scored in single world cup record crossing Kumar Sangakkara, who smashed 4 centuries in World Cup 2015.

Below is the list of most centuries in ICC World Cup 2019 so far :

*Scroll down for Most Centuries in World Cup (All-Time Record)

Most Centuries In World Cup 2019

Rohit SharmaIndia596488198.33
David WarnerAustralia31064771.8889.36
Shakib Al HasanBangladesh2860686.5796.03
Kane WilliamsonNew Zealand2957882.5774.96
Aaron FinchAustralia21050750.7102.01
Jonny BairstowEngland21153248.3692.84
Joe RootEngland21155661.7789.53
Shikhar DhawanIndia1212562.5103.3
Avishka FernandoSri Lanka1420350.75105.72
Carlos BrathwaiteWest Indies1615430.8106.2

*Last updated on 15/7/2019

However, the batsmen with the most number of centuries (overall) are Sachin Tendulkar and Rohit Sharma, who has six World Cup hundreds to their names. The Indian opening batsman Sachin Tendulkar, played across six different World Cup tournaments from 1992 to 2011. Apart from his debut tournament in 1992 and the horrendous Indian campaign in 2007, Tendulkar scored hundreds in each of the tournaments. He not only has the most number of hundreds but also has scored the Most Runs in World Cup Cricket (2278).

Below is the detailed list of all the cricket players with the most centuries scored in the ICC Cricket World Cup -

Most Centuries In World Cup

Rohit SharmaIndia2015-201961797814065.295.97
Sachin TendulkarIndia1992-2011644227815256.9588.98
Kumar SangakkaraSri Lanka2003-2015535153212456.7486.55
Ricky PontingAustralia1996-2011542174314045.8679.95
David WarnerAustralia2015-20194189921786298.12
Sourav GangulyIndia1999-2007421100618355.8877.5
AB de VilliersSouth Africa2007-2015422120716263.52117.29
Mark WaughAustralia1992-1999422100413052.8483.73
Tillakaratne DilshanSri Lanka2007-2015425111216152.9592.97
Mahela JayawardeneSri Lanka1999-2015434110011535.4885.93

There are only two other batsmen with 5 World Cup centuries to their name, Sri Lankan wicket-keeper Kumar Sangakkara and Australian Ricky Ponting. The former has scored 1532 runs in World Cups at an average of 56.74. Ponting too has scored 5 hundreds. He has scored centuries in four different tournaments out of the five he has played.

Also Read : Highest Individual Score in World cup

Six other batsmen have scored 4 centuries in the biggest cricket tournament in the world. They are David Warner (2015-2019 for Australia), Sourav Ganguly (1999-2007 for India), AB de Villiers (2007-2015 for South Africa), Mark Waugh (1992-1999 for Australia), Tillakaratne Dilshan (2007-2015 for Sri Lanka) and Mahela Jayawardene (1999-2015 for Sri Lanka). Apart from Dilshan and Warner, all the others have been captains of their respective teams in at least one World Cup.

India v Sri Lanka - 2011 ICC World Cup Final

Also Read : Most world cup wins