COOKIE CONSENT
Create
Notifications
Favorites Edit
Advertisement

Ind vs NZ 2nd T20: DRS controversy - Was Daryl Mitchell out?

Aadya Sharma
FEATURED COLUMNIST
Feature
1.71K   //    08 Feb 2019, 13:20 IST

Williamson turns around in disbelief as the decision stands
Williamson turns around in disbelief as the decision stands

New Zealand all-rounder Daryl Mitchell was at the receiving end of a controversial umpiring decision during his side's second T20I against India, after he was declared out LBW despite the HotSpot indicating contact off the bat.

The incident took place in the sixth over of the Kiwi innings, when Krunal Pandya trapped Daryl Mitchell in front of the stumps and was given out by the on-field umpire. What seemed like a plumb decision was reviewed by the batsman, after consultation with captain Kane Williamson at the other end.

HotSpot showed a clear mark on the bat
HotSpot showed a clear mark on the bat

The first replay made it seem that there was a slight deflection off the bat, and the HotSpot showed that there was a mark on the bat as the ball passed. However, the RTS (Real-time Snickometer) did not show any spike the moment the ball had passed. To top it all, Hawk Eye highlighted three 'reds' for the ball that had angled in and pushed him back in his crease.

The Snickometer did not show any spike when the ball passed
The Snickometer did not show any spike when the ball passed

Third umpire Shaun Haig, after going through the set of replays, decided to stay with the on-field pressed the 'OUT' button, much to the disbelief of Kane Williamson at the non-striker's end. He then joined an equally stunned Mitchell in the middle of the pitch, talking with the on-field umpires about the decision made.

Next to the Williamson and Mitchell, who refused to move, was the Indian huddle. Rohit Sharma approached the umpires, and then the two batsmen and started a brief discussion, and even MS Dhoni intervened.

Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni having a discussion with the two batsmen and the umpires
Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni having a discussion with the two batsmen and the umpires

Ultimately, the decision stood and Mitchell had to trudge back to the pavilion, visibly gutted.

Advertisement

According to Rule 3.3.6 of Appendix D, Decision Review System (DRS) and Third Umpire Protocol,

If despite the available technology, the third umpire is unable to decide with a high degree of confidence whether the original on-field decision should be changed, then he/she shall report that the replays are ‘inconclusive’, and that the on-field decision shall stand. The third umpire shall not give answers conveying likelihoods or probabilities. 

"This is a horror mistake from Shaun Haig," said Simon Doull on-air. Given the nature of the controversy, debates are expected to continue.


What do you think about the decision? Provide your opinion in the comments section.

Tags:
Advertisement
Advertisement
Fetching more content...