Favorites Edit

India 'A' squads announced for series against Australia 'A' and South Africa 'A'

21.64K   //    01 Aug 2015, 13:43 IST
22-year-old Unmukt Chand has garnered success for India at all junior levels

The India A squad has been announced for the upcoming one-day triangular series featuring the A teams of South Africa and Australia, as well as the squad for the four-day Tests against South Africa A that follows.

Delhi batsman Unmukt Chand has been named captain of the limited-overs side, and Ambati Rayudu will be leading the team in the longer format. Chand had led India to the Under-19 World Cup title in 2012. 

All the one-day matches are scheduled to take place at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai between August 5 and August 14, and the two four-day Tests against South Africa A will begin from August 18 at Wayanad in Kerala.

The squad compositions

Karun Nair has been named vice-captain of both sides.

19-year-old Himachal Pradesh batsman Ankush Bains and Saurashtra batsman Sheldon Jackson were picked into the Test squad on back of great performances in the 2014/15 Ranji Trophy season.

Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara, Amit Mishra and KL Rahul, who were part of the India A squad for the unofficial Tests against Australia, were not available for slection because of the Test series in Sri Lanka beginning on August 12.

The tri-series squad consists of several players who went on the recent tour of Zimbabwe. Legspinner Karn Sharma, who had missed out on the ZImbabwe series due to a fractured finger, has been included as well.

Robin Uthappa and Manoj Tiwary, who played in all the ODIs against Zimbabwe, were ignored.


India A squad for tri-series: Unmukt Chand (c), Mayank Agarwal, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair (vc), Kedar Jadhav, Sanju Samson, Akshar Patel, Parvez Rasool, Karn Sharma, Dhawal Kulkarni, Sandeep Sharma, Rush Kalaria, Mandeep Singh, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Rishi Dhawan.

India A squad for Tests: Ambati Rayudu (c), Karun Nair (vc), Abhinav Mukund, Ankush Bains, Shreyas Iyer, Baba Aparajith, Vijay Shankar, Jayant Yadav, Axar Patel, Karn Sharma, Abhimanyu Mithuin, Shradul Thakur, Ishwar Pandey, Sheldon Jackson, Jiwanjot Singh.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...