Favorites Edit

India complete 4-0 clean sweep of Australia

1.39K   //    24 Mar 2013, 16:01 IST
India won the Border-Gavaskar Trophy after beating Australia 4-0.

India won the Border-Gavaskar Trophy after beating Australia 4-0.

India beat Australia by 6 wickets to complete a 4-0 clean sweep of the Border-Gavaskar trophy on Sunday, with Mahendra Singh Dhoni hitting the winning runs.

Australia had set India a target of 155 after folding up for 164 in their second innings. Cheteshwar Pujara top scored with an unbeaten 82, while Virat Kohli also contributed with a composed 41. Murali Vijay, Sachin Tendulkar and Ajinkya Rahane were all dismissed cheaply for 11, 1, and 1 respectively.

Australia’s spinners Lyon and Maxwell, who had lead a comeback of sorts in the first innings, proved less effectively in the second, both picking up 2 wickets apiece for 67 and 54 runs apiece.

Earlier, Ravindra Jadeja picked up 5 wickets, Ojha and Ashwin picked up two apiece, as they combined to restrict Australia to 164. Even that score was achieved by Australia thanks only to Peter Siddle, the No. 9 batsman again top scoring for the side with another half century.

Full scoreboard below:

Australia 2nd inningsRB4s6sSR
DA Warnerlbw b Jadeja8151053.33
GJ Maxwellb Jadeja8141057.14
EJM Cowanlbw b Jadeja24445054.54
PJ Hugheslbw b Ashwin6230026.08
SR Watson*b Ojha5111045.45
SPD Smithb Jadeja18531033.96
MS Wade†c †Dhoni b Ojha19382050.00
MG Johnsonb Jadeja01000.00
PM Siddlest †Dhoni b Ashwin504570111.11
JL Pattinsonb Sharma11281039.28
NM Lyonnot out571071.42
Extras(b 8, lb 2)10
Total(all out; 46.3 overs)164(3.52 runs per over)
Fall of wickets 1-15 (Maxwell, 4.3 ov), 2-20 (Warner, 6.1 ov), 3-41 (Hughes, 13.4 ov), 4-51 (Watson, 17.3 ov),5-53 (Cowan, 18.4 ov), 6-94 (Smith, 32.1 ov), 7-94 (Johnson, 32.2 ov), 8-122 (Wade, 35.5 ov), 9-157 (Pattinson, 44.4 ov),10-164 (Siddle, 46.3 ov)
B Kumar20904.50
R Ashwin15.325523.54
RA Jadeja1625853.62
PP Ojha1121921.72
I Sharma201316.50
India 2nd innings (target: 155 runs)RB4s6sSR
M Vijayb Maxwell11122091.66
CA Pujaranot out829211089.13
V Kohlilbw b Lyon41604068.33
SR Tendulkarlbw b Lyon150020.00
AM Rahanec Lyon b Maxwell150020.00
MS Dhoni*†not out12142085.71
Extras(b 9, lb 1)10
Total(4 wickets; 31.2 overs)158(5.04 runs per over)
Did not bat RA Jadeja, R Ashwin, PP Ojha, B Kumar, I Sharma
Fall of wickets 1-19 (Vijay, 3.3 ov), 2-123 (Kohli, 23.6 ov), 3-127 (Tendulkar, 25.3 ov), 4-128 (Rahane, 26.4 ov)
NM Lyon15.207124.63
GJ Maxwell1105424.90
MG Johnson201608.00
JL Pattinson30702.33
Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...