Favorites Edit

India vs New Zealand 2016: What if the chunk from Ajinkya Rahane's bat had hit the stumps in first ODI?

Shyam Sunder
8.98K   //    16 Oct 2016, 17:55 IST
Ajinkya Rahane
Rahane started off from where he left in the Test series

The Indian cricket team are currently playing New Zealand in a five-match ODI series, the first of which is being played at Dharamsala. In the match, the Men in Blue did really well to restrict the Kiwis to a below par total of 190 runs.

India made a good start to their chase as both the openers, Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane, looked solid in their approach. However, the fans were in for a funny moment when Rahane broke his bat while going for a pull against Doug Bracewell on the fourth delivery of the second over.

While it seemed to be funny on television, it would have turned out be a serious affair had the chunk gone on to hit the stumps. The chuck flew off Rahane's bat and was quite close to hitting the stumps.

Now the fans might have a very legit question of what if the chuck had hit the stumps with bails coming off ? Pretty simple decision. Rahane would have walked back to the pavilion right after that. Rahane's dismissal would have gone on the scorecard as ‘Hit-wicket’.

Also Read: Twitter reacts to India's performance in the first ODI 

According to Law 35 of the laws of cricket laid by Marylebone Cricket Club, “ If, after the bowler has entered his delivery stride and while the ball is in play, a batsman puts his wicket down by his bat or his body he is out. The striker is also out hit wicket if he puts his wicket down by his bat or his body in setting off for a first run. "Body" includes the clothes and equipment of the batsman.”

In Rahane's case, it is to be noted that the "chunk" was a part of his bat and hence would be categorized as one of his equipment. So, if the chunk had really gone on to hit the stumps, it would have been curtains for the right-hander.

Cricketers have been given out in the past due to several obscure reasons. England's Kevin Pietersen was given out after he was hit on his helmet by a Dwayne Bravo bouncer and the helmet tumbled over the wickets. Bravo, incidentally, found himself on the receiving end couple of months later.

Though there have been several controversies surrounding this rule, the ICC is yet to come up with a clear explanation so as to rule out the "luck" factor in the game.

Topics you might be interested in:
Shyam Sunder
Fetching more content...