KPL Auction 2019: Full list of retained players, purse remaining for all teams and live updates | 27th July

Bijapur Bulls will be looking to build a strong team to defend their title
Bijapur Bulls will be looking to build a strong team to defend their title
Prasen Moudgal

The eighth edition of the Karnataka Premier League is set to commence on 16th August 2019 in Bengaluru with the defending champions Bijapur Bulls set to square off against the Bengaluru Blasters at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Click here to follow all the live updates from the KPL 2019 player auction.

KPL 2019 will follow a similar template to the previous season, with the seven teams in the fray namely the Bijapur Bulls, Belagavi Panthers, Bengaluru Blasters, Hubli Tigers, Shivamogga Lions, Ballari Tuskers and Mysuru Warriors battling it out for the ultimate title.

However, in order to spice up the competition and on 'popular demand', the league will welcome the addition of the eliminators and qualifiers, which will replace the existing and traditional mode of the Top 4 teams from the competition making it to the semifinals.

The player auction for the upcoming season will be held on 27th July, with over 200 players set to fall under the hammer split over 35 Pool A players and 202 Pool B players' services up for grabs.

A number of India internationals and other top-flight stars will be keen to attract fat contracts, with prominent names such as Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, and Krishnappa Gowtham among others released by their respective franchises.

However, the upcoming India's tour of West Indies which will involve the participation of Manish Pandey in the LOI series as well as the Duleep Trophy, slated to begin from August 17th could see a few big profile names missing out from a major part of the tournament, that adds excitement to the aspect of teams looking to build a core of Pool A players.

Who all are the players to have been retained?

All the teams were given an option to retain a maximum of two players from across both categories, along with a first of its kind option to exercise an 'RTM' card, that will give the teams an option to re-sign a player from their KPL 2018 campaign by matching the final bid amount of that player.

Ballari Tuskers: CM Gautam, Devdutt Padikkal.

Bijapur Bulls: Bharath Chipli, K.C Cariappa.

Belagavi Panthers: Shubhang Hegde, Avinash D.

Bengaluru Blasters: V Koushik, Manoj Bhandage.

Hubli Tigers: R Vinay Kumar, Praveen Dubey.

Mysuru Warriors: J Suchith, Vyshak Vijay Kumar.

Shivamogga Lions: Nihal Ullal, Prithviraj Shekhawat.

What is the base price for the two categories and purse remaining?

Pool A players have a base price of ₹50,000 while those in Pool B have a base price of ₹10,000. A squad can have a minimum of 15 players and a maximum of 18 players, with a cap of five Pool A players in each squad. Here is the remaining purse for each team, with a division between the Pool A purse and Pool B purse.

Bijapur Bulls, Bengaluru Blasters, Hubli Tigers and Mysuru Warriors were the four teams who opted to retain only Pool A players while the Shivamogga Lions have their Pool A purse intact, retaining two players from the Pool B category.

Bellari Tuskers: Pool A (₹17 lakh), Pool B (₹11.8 lakh)

Bijapur Bulls: Poor A (₹14.3 lakh), Pool B (₹12 lakh)

Belagavi Panthers: Pool A (₹14.95 lakh), Pool B (₹11.8 lakh)

Bengaluru Blasters: Pool A (₹14.4 lakh), Pool B (₹12 lakh)

Hubli Tigers: Pool A (₹11.3 lakh), Pool B (₹12 lakh)

Mysuru Warriors: Pool A (₹13.4 lakh), Pool B (₹12 lakh)

Shivamogga Lions: Pool A (₹18 lakh), Pool B (₹10.3 lakh).

When and where to watch

Time: Auction starts at 10 AM IST.

Telecast: Suvarna Network.

Live updates: Sportskeeda

Follow Sportskeeda for all the updates on KPL points table, news, results, KPL schedule 2019, most runs, most wickets and fantasy tips.

Edited by Amar Anand


Quick Links

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...