Lasith Malinga, Jeevan Mendis included in Sri Lanka's preliminary squad for T20I series against India

Sri Lanka v Pakistan - ICC Champions Trophy
Malinga last played for Sri Lanka in September 2017

Fast bowler Lasith Malinga and all-rounder Jeevan Mendis, who last played a T20I game for the national team in 2013, have been named in the 20-man squad selected for the three-match T20 series against India that starts after the end of the three-match ODI series.

Malinga last played for Sri Lanka in the T20Is against India in September and was not included in the Lankan side for the ODI and T20I series against Pakistan in UAE and the ongoing ODI series against India due to poor form. In spite of his inclusion, Thisara Perera will continue to lead the side in the series.

After sending a depleted side to play Pakistan in the T20I series as several first-choice Sri Lankan cricketers refused to tour Lahore for the final T20, the Lankan selectors have named a strong 20-member preliminary squad to face India in the series that gets underway in Cuttack from December 20.

All the members of the Sri Lankan ODI team barring Suranga Lakmal are included in the 20-member squad along with Malinga, Mendis, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana and Vishwa Fernando.

The selectors will trim down the preliminary squad and will name a 15-member team for the T20I series in the coming days. After the first match in Cuttack on December 20, the teams will travel to Indore for the second T20I on 22 and then to Mumbai for the third and final T20I on December 24.

Sri Lanka's preliminary squad for the T20I series against India: Thisara Perera(c), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Chaturanga de Silva, Akila Dananjaya, Nuwan Pradeep, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dushmantha Chameera, Sachith Pathirana, Kusal Perera, Lasith Malinga, Jeevan Mendis Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana and Vishwa Fernando.

Get IND vs NZ Live Cricket Score, 1st T20 at Sportskeeda. Follow us for the latest cricket Updates.

Quick Links

Edited by Sankalp Srivastava
Be the first one to comment