⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Lord's unveil new honours boards for men's and women's ODIs 

  • Many legendary cricketers, who had not made it before, now feature on the Lord's honours board.
Ram Kumar
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 21:47 IST

Muttiah Muralitharan and Ricky Ponting now feature on the Lord
Muttiah Muralitharan and Ricky Ponting now feature on the Lord's honors board

Departing from tradition, the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) have now installed honours boards for ODIs too. The new honours boards at the iconic Lord's Cricket Ground will include starring performances in both men's and women's ODIs.

In the past, there were only two honours boards at the Lord's Cricket Ground. They recognised centuries and hauls of five wickets or more in both home and away dressing rooms at the grand old venue.

Ahead of the 2019 season, the MCC have veered away from history and unveiled new honours boards to recognise centuries and hauls of five wickets or more in men's as well as women's ODIs.

Also Read: Top 7 reasons that make Lord's The Home of Cricket

Guy Lavender, MCC Chief Executive and Secretary, stated, "We are delighted to now be able to recognise the same achievements for One-Day Internationals as we have done for Test Matches for many years. This is a landmark moment for Lord's, with women's cricket now documented in the dressing rooms for the first time."

He added, "The Honours Boards are amongst the most popular attractions for the many visitors to the Home of Cricket. There is a huge amount of prestige for players to see their name inscribed in history, so it is appropriate for a new installation of the boards to take place ahead of what will be such a busy year of cricket at Lord’s."

The new development means legendary bowlers like Muttiah Muralitharan, Joel Garner and Brett Lee all find a place on the Lord's honours board. They had not been able to make it to the honour's boards on the back of their Test performances.

Former Australia skipper Ricky Ponting and erstwhile England opener Mike Atherton are among the leading batsmen to have benefitted from this change by MCC. They now see their names adorned on the honours board due to their ODI hundreds at the iconic venue.

Anya Shrubsole, who picked 6/46 to help England win the Women's World Cup in 2017, is one of many women's cricketers who have got their performances immortalised on the new honours board.


England seamer Katherine Brunt (5/25 against South Africa in 2008) and Australian pacer Cathryn Fitzpatrick are the other women players to now feature on the latest honours board.

In the batting department, England's Claire Taylor, Caroline Atkins, Sarah Taylor as well as Australia's Lisa Keightley feature on the honours board for their respective centuries in women's ODIs at Lord's.

Published 27 Feb 2019, 18:10 IST
Fetching more content...