Favorites Edit

New Zealand squad for the 2016 World T20 announced

10.77K   //    01 Feb 2016, 10:29 IST
New Zealand squad for the World T20 announced
New Zealand squad for the World T20 announced

New Zealand have announced their 15 member squad for the 2016 World T20 in India. After the announcement of Brendon McCullum, Kane Williamson has been named the captain. There are few surprises in the squad as Henry Nicholls, who is yet to play a T20 international has been called up ahead of Tom Latham and in-form pacer Matt Henry has been left out.

Also read: ICC T20 World Cup 2016: India vs New Zealand - Live streaming, team news, squad, date, time

Another surprise is that veteran offspinner Nathan McCullum, who last played a T20 international in South Africa last August, has been recalled for one last time before retirement. He had a decent Georgie Pie domestic T20 competition for finalists Otago, taking 13 wickets at 16, with an economy rate of 5.71.

The squad has four frontline batsmen, two wicketkeepers in Luke Ronchi and Henry Nicholls, three all-rounders in Mitchell Santner, Corey Anderson and Grant Elliott, three spinners and four pacers. Ish Sodhi has been picked as the third spinner alongside McCullum and Santner.

'We've picked what we think is a well-balanced squad for the conditions," selector and national coach Mike Hesson said.

''They are far different to what we're facing over here. The biggest challenge is getting out of pool play, with three sub-continental sides and Australia and only two to go through. It is going to be tough. The challenge for us is adapting and hopefully, we've got the squad with enough experience who can do that," he added.

"With the Indian conditions in mind, the plan has always been to take three frontline spinners and all three bring something different. It's great to have Nathan available again and his experience in the foreign conditions will be invaluable. Both he and Mitch Santner have the ability to bowl in the first six overs, which gives Kane a number of options to work with," he concluded.

New Zealand are in a tough group, alongside India, Australia, Pakistan and a qualifier, probably Bangladesh and start their campaign against India on March 15.

New Zealand's squad for the World T20 in India:

Kane Williamson (c), Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Grant Elliott, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Mitch McClenaghan, Trent Boult.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...