⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

New Zealand vs India 2019, 1st ODI: Player Ratings

Syed Tariq
Top 5 / Top 10
23 Jan 2019, 17:40 IST


Mohammed Shami becomes the quickest Indian bowler to reach 100 ODI wickets.
Mohammed Shami becomes the quickest Indian bowler to reach 100 ODI wickets.

Rohit Sharma- 3/10

The Indian vice-captain had an off day as he was dismissed for just 11 runs by the Kiwi pacer Doug Bracewell.

Shikhar Dhawan - 8/10

After enduring a poor ODI series Down Under, Shikhar Dhawan bounced back with a brilliant 75 runs knock to lead India to a comfortable 8 wicket victory. However, he did drop a simple catch in the field and thus, a point is deducted.

Virat Kohli- 6/10

Kohli looked in fine touch and scored a handy 45 runs off 59 balls before being dismissed by Lockie Ferguson in the closing stages of the match.

Ambati Rayudu- 3/10

Selected ahead of Dinesh Kartik in the playing XI, Rayudu did not do much in today's match and remained unbeaten on 13 runs as he came out to bat with India just 24 runs short of winning the game.

MS Dhoni- 5/10


The in-form veteran batsman did not get a chance to bat, as India's top order finished off the chase without many hiccups. However, Dhoni was brilliant behind the wickets and even affected the stumping of Lockie Ferguson of the bowling of Kuldeep Yadav.

Kedar Jadhav- 4/10

Kedar Jadhav had a poor day in the field as he dropped a sitter of Kane Williamson, but made up for it by picking up the crucial wicket of Henry Nicholls.

Vijay Shankar- 5/10

Vijay Shankar was unlucky not to pick up his maiden ODI wicket as a catch was dropped of his bowling, but was once again economical with the ball and conceded just 19 runs from his 4 overs.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar- 5/10

Although he failed to grab even a single wicket, Bhuvneshwar Kumar bowled an economical spell 5-0-20-0 to provide a good supporting hand to Mohammed Shami.

Kuldeep Yadav- 10/10

The 24-year-old Chinaman bowler, was the best Indian bowler on display as he outfoxed the Kiwi batsmen with his variations and picked up 4 wickets.

Mohammed Shami- 10/10

Shami was once again superb with the ball and produced a brilliant opening spell to dismiss the New Zealand openers cheaply and ended the match with a fine bowling spell of 6-2-19-3. For his superb bowling performance, Shami was awarded the Player of The Match trophy

Yuzvendra Chahal- 7/10

Chahal continued from where he left off at Melbourne with another fine bowling performance and also took the crucial wickets of Ross Taylor and Tom Latham to derail the New Zealand innings.

India vs New Zealand 2019: Top 5 MS Dhoni knocks against...
Fetching more content...