Favorites Edit

New Zealand vs India: 4th ODI- Preview And Predicted XI

3.43K   //    30 Jan 2019, 16:19 IST

Rohit Sharma will be pivotal to Team India's success
Rohit Sharma will be pivotal to Team India's success


 The Indian Team has sealed yet another ODI series win in style in New Zealand. The Blue Brigade has been in prime form since arriving in New Zealand, after their historic tour Down Under. They have outplayed the hosts in all the three departments to win the series, they lead the scoreline by 3-0 after the first three games. Team India’s confidence is on another level which was quite evident on the pitch in this series.

Virat Kohli will be rested for the rest of the tour while Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian side in his 200th ODI at Hamilton. India will take this as an opportunity to whitewash the Kiwis on their home turf.

There has been a lot of talk about Shubhman Gill, who is expected to replace Kohli in the starting lineup. With the ICC World Cup 2019 in sight, India will give their reserve players a go in the remaining games. Dead rubber matches are the ideal situations for a team to test its bench strength and give the backup players ample of game-time.

The Black Caps, on the contrary, will be fighting for their pride in the remaining two games. The home side has issues to ponder as the first three games were one-sided. Kane Williamson has struggled in this series and has often ended up giving his wicket away after getting decent starts.

Kane Williamson has failed to make a mark in this series
Kane Williamson has failed to make a mark in this series

Tom Latham and Ross Taylor have been rock-solid against the seamers and spinners while scoring the majority of runs for New Zealand. Their bowlers have also failed to give early breakthroughs and put some pressure on the Indian batting lineup. Boult, Ferguson, and Bracewell need to do some damage up front to get the visitors on the back-foot.

MS Dhoni might not be fit enough to return in this ODI and Dinesh Karthik can keep his place. Dhoni missed the last game too due to a hamstring strain. Jimmy Neesham and Todd Astle will feature in the squad for the final two games.

The hosts will be eyeing to make a statement in the series which has been quite a one-sided affair. While the Indian team would hope to keep their winning juggernaut running, as they head to the fourth ODI and win the series by 5-0.

Game Details 

Date: Wednesday, January 31, 2019.


Time: 07:30 AM IST

Venue: Seddon Park, Hamilton

League: India tour of New Zealand 2019

Live Telecast: Star Sports Network

Online Streaming: Hotstar

Ground Stats

Total Matches- 33

Matches won batting first- 11

Matches won bowling first- 20

Average 1st Inns scores- 243

Average 2nd Inns scores- 220

Highest total recorded- 363/4 (50 Ov) by WI vs NZ

Lowest total recorded- 122/10 (44.5 Ov) by IND vs NZ

Highest score chased- 350/9 (49.3 Ov) by NZ vs AUS

Lowest score defended- 182/9 (35 Ov) by NZ vs SL

Team News


  • Virat Kohli is rested by the management, so he will not feature for the rest of the games.
  • Shubman Gill is expected to make his debut and replace Kohli.

New Zealand

  • James Neesham comes back to the side after his injury and replaces Doug Bracewell.
  • Todd Astle, the leggie is likely to make his way in the starting lineup rather than Ish Sodhi.



Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, K Khaleel Ahmed, Mohammed Shami, Vijay Shankar, Shubman Gill.

New Zealand:

Kane Williamson(c), Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, James Neesham, Todd Astle

Key Players


  • Rohit Sharma
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar

New Zealand

  • Martin Guptill
  • Kane Williamson
  • Ross Taylor

Probable Playing XI


  1. Rohit Sharma (c)
  2. Shikhar Dhawan
  3. Shubman Gill
  4. Ambati Rayudu
  5. Kedar Jadhav
  6. Dinesh Karthik (w)
  7. Hardik Pandya
  8. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  9. Kuldeep Yadav
  10. Mohammed Shami
  11. Yuzvendra Chahal

 New Zealand

  1. Martin Guptill
  2. Colin Munro
  3. Kane Williamson(c)
  4. Ross Taylor
  5. Tom Latham(w)
  6. Henry Nicholls
  7. Mitchell Santner
  8. James Neesham
  9. Todd Astle
  10. Lockie Ferguson
  11. Trent Boult

Follow Sportskeeda for all the updates on Cricket news, schedule, points table, live scores, fantasy cricket tips and stats.