Big Bash League 2023-24: Top run-getters and wicket-takers after Sydney Sixers vs Brisbane Heat (Updated) ft. Josh Brown and Spencer Johnson

Most Runs List after the conclusion of the Final
Most Runs List after the conclusion of the final

The final of the Big Bash League (BBL) 2023-24 was played at the iconic Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on Wednesday (January 24). Hosts Sydney Sixers faced the Brisbane Heat in an exciting clash, where the Heat emerged victorious by 54 runs.

Sydney Sixers won the toss and opted to bowl first. Heat lost Jimmy Peirson on four early in the innings but Josh Brown and Nathan McSweeney led the recovery work. Both played some beautiful strokes and kept the Sixers at bay. Brown brought up a well-compiled fifty.

McSweeney (33) and Brown (53) fell in quick succession and the Heat lost their way a bit. Matt Renshaw played a handy knock of 40 off 22 balls to power the Heat to 166/8 at the end of their innings. Sean Abbott bowled beautifully for the Sixers to register figures of 4/32.

In reply, the Sixers lost both their openers inside the powerplay. Josh Philippe (23) and skipper Moises Henriques (25) tried hard but the Heat made sure that they kept things tight in the middle overs. During the process, they picked up regular wickets.

The Sixers lost their way as the innings progressed. They failed to build partnerships and eventually got bundled out on 112 in 17.3 overs to lose the game by 54 runs. Spencer Johnson grabbed a four-fer for Heat to help his side defend the total successfully and lift their second title.

Here's a look at the Most Runs and Most Wickets lists on conclusion of the final:

Big Bash League 2023-24 Most Runs List

Sr. NoPlayerMatInnsNORunsHSAveBFSR1005004s6s
1MW Short (AS)111125418260.11353153.25-6-4325
2J Brown (BH)99036614040.66243150.6111-3123
3AM Hardie (PS)1111233485*37.11261127.96-2-1814
4CA Lynn (AS)77230483*60.8185164.32-3-3114
5LJ Evans (PS)107229285*58.4154189.61-3-2916
6BJ Webster (MS)98226266*43.66229114.41-31217
7BR McDermott (HH)88226195*43.5192135.93-3-2512
8AD Hales (ST)9902587228.66183140.98-112713
9J Fraser-McGurk (MR)9802577032.12162158.64-211718
10MC Henriques (SS)111022575932.12219117.35-1-178

Adelaide Strikers’ skipper Matthew Short finished as the highest run-scorer in the Big Bash League 2023-24. He was sensational with the bat this season and scored 541 runs in 11 games at an average of 60.11.

Josh Brown played an instrumental role in Brisbane Heat lifting the title. The swashbuckling opener smashed a 38-ball 53 against the Sixers in the final to take his runs tally to 366 in nine outings. He finished as the second highest run-scorer in the competition.

Aaron Hardie of Perth Scorchers finished below Brown in the most runs list. The right-handed batter scored 334 runs in 11 games.

Chris Lynn of Adelaide Strikers featured in only seven games but amassed 304 runs in the process to finish fourth in the most runs list.

Laurie Evans of Perth Scorchers scored 292 runs in seven outings. He averaged a hefty 58.40 in the Big Bash League 2023-24 and finished among the top five run-getters in the competition.

Big Bash League 2023-24 Most Wickets List

Sr. NoPlayerMatInnsBallsOversMdnsRunsWktsBBIAveEconSR45
1XC Bartlett (BH)111123138.3-294203/2914.77.6311.55--
2SH Johnson (BH)1111234391275194/2614.477.0512.311-
3BJ Dwarshuis (SS)111124240.2-284175/2116.77.0414.23-1
4PI Walter (BH)111120434-291173/2717.118.5512--
5JP Behrendorff (PS)109198331254164/2515.877.6912.371-
6J Overton (AS)9920634.2-277163/2317.318.0612.87--
7CJ Boyce (AS)111125442.2-293143/2020.926.9218.14--
8L Pope (AS)6612621-185134/2214.238.89.692-
9LR Morris (PS)9918631-247135/24197.9614.3-1
10MG Neser (BH)1111174291218123/2718.167.5114.5--

Xavier Bartlett of Brisbane Heat picked up two wickets on the night of the final to take his wickets tally to 20 in 11 games. He finished as the highest wicket-taker in the Big Bash League 2023-24.

Brisbane Heat’s Spencer Johnson was the Player of the Final. He breathed fire and registered figures of 4/26. The 28-year-old finished with 19 wickets to his name in the competition.

Ben Dwarshuis of Sydney Sixers managed to pick up only a single scalp in the final and finished the Big Bash League 2023-24 with 17 wickets to his name. He averaged 16.70 in the tournament.

Paul Walter of Brisbane Heat also grabbed 17 wickets in the competition and finished below Dwarshuis as he averaged 17.11. The English pacer grabbed the big wicket of Moises Henriques in the final.

Perth Scorchers’ Jason Behrendorff finished at the fifth position in the most wickets list with 16 wickets to his name.

Looking for fast live cricket scores? Download CricRocket and get fast score updates, top-notch commentary in-depth match stats & much more! 🚀☄️

Quick Links

Edited by Sudeshna Banerjee
App download animated image Get the free App now