New User posted their first comment

T10 League 2021: Wayne Parnell replaces Andre Russell in the Northern Warriors squad

Notts Outlaws v Worcestershire Rapids - Vitality T20 Blast Semi-Final
Notts Outlaws v Worcestershire Rapids - Vitality T20 Blast Semi-Final
Modified 17 Jan 2021, 17:40 IST

South African speedster Wayne Parnell has been named as the replacement for Northern Warriors icon player Andre Russell, the club announced ahead of the new Abu Dhabi T10 League season.

Andre Russell was initially named as the icon player but will miss the upcoming edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 League. Neither the player nor the team announced the reason for his unavailability.

In the absence of the big-hitting West Indian all-rounder, Nicholas Pooran has been named the Northern Warrior's new icon player. The wicket-keeper batsman is also the captain of the Warriors.

"Our Mr Skipper @nicholas_47 replaces Andre Russell as the Icon Player of the Northern Warriors squad," the club tweeted.

Nicholas Pooran will have a heap of responsibilities on his shoulders. Firstly, he'll have to play a major role as skipper if they are to win the Abu Dhabi T10 League trophy.

Secondly, as the icon player of the club, Pooran will have to lead from the front and be a role model for the other players in the team.

Abu Dhabi T10 League commences on January 28


The fourth edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 League will begin on January 28, with eight teams taking part in the event.

The participating teams are Team Abu Dhabi, Maratha Arabians, Deccan Gladiators, Bangla Tigers, Delhi Bulls, Qalandars, Pune Devils and Northern Warriors.

The draft took place a couple of weeks ago and teams have stacked up big names in their ranks, and will hope the players create the fireworks expected of them.

The much-awaited schedule of the Abu Dhabi T10 League 2021 is expected to be announced within a week.

Published 13 Jan 2021, 19:06 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit